Welcome, Maureen Vincent Northam

To celebrate launch day of Trace your Roots, Maureen is here on my blog today to tell us about her new release. Lovely to welcome you here, Mo, and good luck with the book. I’ve got mine on order already.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

New Trace Your Roots-med(1)

When I sat down to write Trace your Roots I had great plans. I wanted the book to be packed with loads of useful genealogical tips. More than that, I wanted to help those who found they’d reached an impasse – as so many do when drawing up their family tree.
So the tips in my book needed to cover less well known resources, as well as the more obvious birth, marriage and death records, parish registers and census data. To enable both novice and more experienced family history researchers to break though their brick wall I’d use the strategies that had helped me during my time as a professional researcher. These tips would work – after all, they’d been tried and tested.
Each family tree is a puzzle that’s waiting to be solved and like an old jig-saw, there will be pieces missing. Yet these missing segments can often be found when you look in places you hadn’t thought to explore, or didn’t even know existed. Strangely enough, some of the most rewarding finds can be discovered by travelling these unfamiliar routes.
Trace your Roots, published by Crooked Cat Publishing, was a joy to write and I’m very happy with the result. The fabulous cover was designed by Laurence Patterson of Crooked Cat.

Please join me on my genealogy blog, I’m always happy to post other people’s stories: http://trace-your-roots.blogspot.co.uk/

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Trace-Your-Roots-Maureen-Vincent-Northam-ebook/dp/B00Y2PFXYC/ref=zg_bs_362635031_44
Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/Trace-Your-Roots-Maureen-Vincent-Northam-ebook/dp/B00Y2PFXYC/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1434284388&sr=8-3&keywords=Trace+your+Roots

Author bio
Maureen Vincent-Northam has written seriously ever since Father Christmas left her a Petite typewriter. Author of Trace your Roots, she also wrote Black Dog’s Treasure and co-authored The Writer’s ABC Checklist.

An editor with Crooked Cat Publishing, her work has appeared in newspapers, magazines, anthologies and online. She has tutored workshops; judged online writing contests and a few years ago was winner of The Writers’ Advice Centre for Children’s Books competition.

Maureen works part time in a residential home, is rubbish at cooking and, when not burning dinner, can usually be found surrounded by empty chocolate wrappers.

10 thoughts on “Welcome, Maureen Vincent Northam

  1. Great post, Susan. Thank you! I’ve never been interested in tracing my roots but my step-father (who is lovely) is very interested and his father (who sadly passed away a few years ago) began their family tree years ago. I will definitely buy this book for my step-father which will perhaps encourage him to continue his dad’s work. Wishing Maureen lots of success.

    • You’re welcome, Mo. I’m starting on my next Redington story, but I’ve been messing about, putting the summer song from Grease on my website. Will get down to it soon. Hope you sell lots of TYR.

  2. Great post, Sue and Maureen. Thank you. My husband and I are both attempting to trace our respective family trees so ‘Trace Your Roots’ is going straight on our ‘Books To Read Soon’ list!

Leave a comment