Writing Update

Now at last, I can say I’ve put THE END on the last chapter of Hats off to Love. Now all I need to do is prepare it in an orderly fashion for sending out.

That will take some time as I want to get it just right. This story has been kicking around since 2012, when I entered a competition and came on the shorlist. Then I did nano in 2013 with it to get it all scribbled down, and then entered the same comptetion in 2014, and came on the shorlist again.

When I got stuck half way through, I set up a yahoo group for other people writing a novel, to get some feedback. Thanks to Jan, complete with hat, and Patsy and Martin, also with hat, for your help. Not forgetting the lovely Christine, who left the group.

So you can imagine how thrilled I am to have completed it.

Jan in a hatPatsy CollinsMartin West

The story has been edited by Maureen Vincent Northam, who has her ‘Trace Your Roots’ book published on Friday. Great news that Maureen will be my guest on this blog then.

Hope you have a great week, see you on Friday, until then, hope the writing goes well. Only thing now is to find a publisher. Wonder who’s looking for a romantic story? Set in the seventies, in rural Warwickshire?

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

12 thoughts on “Writing Update”

  1. Wishing you loads of success with finding a publisher, Suzy. You could maybe try Accent Press, Tirgearr (one of my publishers), Crooked Cat (my other publisher) if they’re still open to submissions.

  2. Hey, it’s my lovely novel writing buddy, Christine, so great to see you on my blog. Thanks for all your invaluable help with feedback and suggestions. You made a difference, and will be the first to know when someone snaps it up. See my positive thinking:)) Thanks for the luck as well.

  3. I know you’re right, Ruth. Now I’m looking forward to starting on the follow up book, and hope it doesn’t take so long to put together as the first one. Perhaps I’d better find a publisher for book one first though:))

  4. Congratulations on finishing and seeing the magic words ‘The End’, Sue! Sending you loads of luck with the next stage of approaching agents and publishers. Great to hear that book 2 is in the pipeline. 🙂

Leave a Reply

