A Touch of Snow

Walking in the snow before it melts.

It was such a miniscule amount that I took a picture to prove it. And we went a walk round the block to blow away a few cobwebs.

Here’s our local postbox where I pop in all my submissions and ideas to editors. Doesn’t it look good with a snow hat on.

Post box

Here’s the next paragraphs of chapter 1 of book 2 in the Redington Series.

 

************************************************************************

We left off where Stanly the milkman was chatting to Janice in the grocery shop in the village about the new houses, flats and bungalows being built on the other side of the town.

 

“Not many around here think like you do; and not sure how long I’ll be able to keep going with my rounds. Mind you, saying that, a couple of young wives stopped and asked if I’d call twice a week with bread and milk, so you never know. Their hubby’s work on the roads over in Peterborough; tricky for them to get out early, especially if the babies are sleeping and them without transport. That’s what they were telling me. And with the shop being over this end of the village, makes it easier if I drop milk off.”
“That’s good news. It wouldn’t be the same without you and your deliveries. On the downside, there’s a new row of shops going up on that estate as well, so that might affect us in the long run.” Janice took a deep breath, and ran her tongue along her lip. “According to Jack, he’ll keep on doing the same as he’s always done, he doesn’t seem worried. I’ve spoken to him about expanding. I’m sure it could work.”
The door to the back of the shop banged open. The thin youth with ragged jeans and red and white sweatshirt made his way behind the counter, and picked up the delivery book. He glanced up, “Hi, Stanley, fancy taking a couple of small boxes for me. I’ve got the fruit and veg deliveries today. You know how they’d rather have you bringing them their jammy dodgers than me,” he grinned. “Sorry, did I interrupt something?”
Richie had dark brownish hair that sometimes hung lankly around his ears. On other occasions it stuck up, having a complete life of its own. His hazel eyes were enquiring and always darting from left to right, keeping an eye on every inch of the shop at the same time, Jack was teaching him to become shop manager, only everyone knew Janice held the fort more often than not.
“I was telling Stanley about Jack taking on a shop unit on the new estate. They’re not that big, and we’ve got all the stock and that new delivery van. It makes sense to me, only Jack doesn’t like changes, does he, Richie?”
“Not much. Let’s face it; took him three years to get me a van. He had me going round on that flipping great bike while I was the apprentice, with the basket on the front like an offspring of Granville.”
Janice chuckled, “Mm, I did hear you being called that once or twice. You have to admit it’s an idea though eh?”
“I’m sure you’d manage it between you. Anyway, if the young Royal is going to be attending that new nursery school in Redington, more people might want to come over here to live. We’ll have the television cameras here, Janice; better get your roots done.” Stanley put his cup down and made for the door swiftly managing to duck the pack of crumpets Janice hurled his way. He reached up and caught them in his left hand, then threw her a wink at the door and he was gone.

****************************************************************************

Wordcount is 3,127 and I’m at the end of chapter 1 and got titles for the other chapters and a basic outline worked out. It may change from this, but it’s getting the skeleton story down at the moment. I’m aiming to get another chapter done during next week. More paragraphs of chapter one posted next weekend.

Watchout for People’s Friend author interview, coming soon. Amanda Brittany will be here to tell us more about her writing. Something to look forward to so check back here soon. Have a great week…

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

17 thoughts on “A Touch of Snow”

  1. Loving your postbox, Suzy ~ we had frost for a few days but now we’re back to incessant rain. 😦 The story is coming along well ~ you are so dedicated to your writing, you deserve to succeed! 🙂

  2. I think we were all disappointed that there was only a sprinkling of snow, especially after listening to the forecast. I could see your Redington stories working well on the radio?

  3. We walked home from the comedy club on Saturday in a mini snow storm. Very cold! and we woke to quite a covering on Sunday morning. Children were out on their sledges and so forth. It had pretty much disappeared by lunchtime though. With British weather, you really do have to rush out and make the most of it, because you never now how long it will last.

    1. Thanks, Patsy, I’m on the second chapter now, and have a picture of the whole thing forming (slowly) in my mind. This one will be a continuing story rather than lots of separate stories.

    1. Thanks, Amanda, I’ve made a plan which makes it easier to write. And I love that made up village so find it easy to transport myself there and get involved in whatever is going on. I’m about to put the interview up in a bit.

Leave a Reply

