RNA Award Ceremony.

On Saturday, we went to Leighton Buzzard so that I could attend the Award Ceremony. Here’s the list for the new talent section.

Jan in a hatTo celebrate me getting on to the shortlist of 11, here’s my writing buddy Jan, modeling her stylish hat, in support for Hats off to Love… Click on the picture to go to Jan’s blog.

New Talent Award Shortlist
An Infamous Seduction by Glenda Cooper

Country Strife by Debbie Fuller-White

Fancy Cakes and Skinny Lattes by Melanie Griffiths

For One Last Time by Louise Hall

The Gossamer Trail by Brenda Hawkey

Who Does He Think He Is? by Emily Kerr

Hats Off To Love by Susan Jones

Meeting Halfway by Mairibeth MacMillan

The Perfect Blend by Catherine Meadows

True Colours by Caroline Rayner

Maggie’s Child by Glynis Smy

It was lovely to meet the others on the shortlist. Brenda had traveled all the way from Cornwall, and I thought we’d had quite a journey. Her story sounded interesting, and so did lots of others, like Louise’s One Last TIme, and Glynis’s Maggie’s Child. Then I met Debbie Fuller White, who told me about Country Strife.

Congratulations to Caroline Rayner who won with True Colours. She told me it’s a story about second chances, because everyone deserves a second chance. Look forward to reading that.

The children dancing before and in between the awards were a real treat, and some brought a tear to the eye. I especially liked the lad dancing to ‘why do fools fall in love’ and the little girl singing ‘where is love’ from Oliver Twist, and dressed in rags.

Click on Samantha’s photo to go to her website.

4d63252a5b54e0538456e6c551e5f1e4_400x400

I met Samantha Tonge, who was also shortlisted for her e-book, and two lovely Irish ladies, Carmel Harrington who won last years e-book category, she was presenting an award; and Louise Hall who was on the same shortlist as me. The editors from Carina are lovely as well. They won their section.

Sophie, in the middle of the two lovely Irish ladies, Carmel and Louise, won the blogger award for reviewedthebook blog.

shortlisted pals

So now I’m busy getting the novel finished, edited, polished and up to scratch to send in… also I’m working on The Ghost of Windmill Walk for Creative Frontiers.

Right after the award ceremony, we had a visit to Wales to visit Alan’s mum. She was her usual welcoming self, and more about that on my giggle blog in a week or so…

Even though I didn’t win, (in some ways I’m glad as I’d have been a nervous wreck going up on the stage) I know now that the story of Denise will be published one day. She is waiting for me to get fingers on keyboard, and put the whole thing together…..

One thing that stayed in my mind from the weekend, is that the lady who won, Caroline, had a lovely smile and she turned to me and said, ‘what lovely friendly people romantic novelists are.’ She is truly smashing, and looking forward to reading her story.

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

18 thoughts on “RNA Award Ceremony.”

  1. It sounds as if you had a lovely time at the award ceremony, Sue – how exciting for you! I’m sorry my ‘hat wishes’ didn’t work this time but the whole experience can only be good. As I’ve said, I think your title ‘Hats Off To Love’ is a great one. Thank you for the link to my blog. by the way. 🙂

    1. It was lovely Jan, and your picture gave some style to how I felt, and to this blog post, so thank you for sending it. Now I need to get down to it and sort the whole thing out to completion. Easier to say than do, as you know:))

  2. I’d love to read your novel too, Susan. You have done so well to write it. And so well to have got onto that short-list. Clever girl! And when you’re a famous novelist you can wear big hats all day long, if you want. Even in the bath!

    1. Ha ha, that sounds good Lynne, I’ll be the big hat lady, in the bath with chocolates. Though, no, that sounds like the title of a murder story. I do love hats though, and would be a good excuse to wear one at my book launch. Speaking of which, must get on with it…… Glad you’d like to read it, and you shall have your wish one day. Here’s me sprinkling fairy dust across the computer. xx

Leave a Reply

