I won a prize

bag of woolI won this lovely bag of wool. Summerlite cotton double knitting. Tons of it, so I’m knitting a new summer jumper for myself.

All we had to do on the Simply knitting link is say what’s on our needles at the moment. It was the tea cosy, made from left over bits. I’m thrilled as I’d been thinking of buying some wool, but not sure what colour or type. Now I’ve got it all to hand and it’s really special to knit with.

On the writing front, I’m on the last chapter of a rewrite of Hats off to Love. The lovely editor I’m working with wanted the story set in the present day rather than in the 70’s. So now it’s almost complete and crossing fingers that it’s good enough and she likes it. Also I have another story accepted on the Alfie dog website. That’s out around the end of May.

More news on that soon. Have a great week, whatever you’re doing.

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

18 thoughts on “I won a prize”

    1. Will do Maggie. I’ve started one and realised when I’d done my 2″ rib that instead of 90 stitches I’ve got 88 ******* swear words****** will start again. Yes of course I’ll post a photo. Thanks for your good wishes with the changes.

  1. What a fabulous prize (well it is if you can knit) you must show us the result when you’ve finished. Good luck with the novel edits – I’m also in the middle of them.

    1. Hi, Wendy. I find knitting relaxing and keeps the mind busy in-between edits. I’ll post a picture of the finished item, and good luck with your edits as well. Let’s hope we have good news together.

  2. Congrats on winning the wool. These readers’ letters type opportunities can yield some excellent booty. Glad to hear you have another story on Alfie Dog – but a bit envious, too, given their recent curt response to me, telling me they were closed to submissions.

    1. Hi, Julia. Yes, it’s made me decide to enter more competitions. Much more chance of winning something that way than doing the lottery these days. Shame about your response from Alfie. They had an open to all slot, and then it closed unless you’ve already been published on there I think.

    1. Thanks, Linda. It’s definitely a colour I would choose, yes. Thanks for the luck. I’m not far off now, and hope there won’t be tons and tons more editing after that.

  3. Congrats on winning the wool, Sue. I look forward to seeing the new summer jumper. I’m still knitting the shawl for my baby grandson but at least I’m on the border now! Well done on reaching the last chapter of your edits and another story on Alfie Dog. 🙂

  4. Thank you, Jan. Shawls and blankets take ages. I’m crocheting a pink and white one for Sophie, and I’m about half way through it. The summer jumper is something to do in-betweeen all the other things.

  5. Congratulations on the win and the story acceptance.

    Now, stop hanging about on the internet and get that last chapter finished!

    Or else!!!

Leave a Reply

