A crafty weekend

Hello, friendly bloggers, hope your weekend is going well. I’m catching up with writing and doing some knitting – making a tea cosy from some scraps of wool. Reason being, I’ve just finished reading this book.

It’s one my sister, lent to our mom, and she lent it to me. We all like knitting, so it’s been passed around like all good books should be.

If you like knitting, then I’m sure you’ll end up picking up some needles and making something. I’ve made up the pattern, but I’m sure it will end up resembling a tea cosy.

knitting bookTea cosy

It’s got pale pink in there as well. When it’s finished I’ll add three colours of pom poms on top. It’ll be rather jolly to pop on the tea-pot don’t you think? I’m on chapter 9 of the rewrite, which I will have more news on later.

Today, Alan creosoted our front gate and two posts either side of it that had gone wobbly. Now they’re brand spanking new. I cleaned the windows in the greenhouse and sterilised it ready for putting plants and salad vegetables in. So far there are three scented geraniums, an orchid that may or may not pick up and a pink geranium that’s survived the winter and bushing out once more.

I have a story published on Kishboo magazine site. Snowdrops

If you read and like my story could you vote for it please? Good luck to my writing pals who also have stories and poems on there. A real coincidence is that I wrote the Snowdrops story a few years ago, and there’s a Hetty in it. One of the main characters in the knit off book is Hettie as well. It’s not even a name you hear much is it?

 

Have a great week. What crafts are you doing?

 

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

12 thoughts on “A crafty weekend”

  1. Wow, you have been busy. I’ve been busy knitting two hats; one a black beeny with skull and crossbones on it and the other is an orange fox with ears. Both for the grandchildren who will be here tomorrow. I’ve also been creosoteing the fence (see my blog). Isn’t it great to get these jobs done now the weather is better? I’ll have a look at your story later.

    1. Thanks, Maggie, that’s kind of you. Yes, I’d written a couple for People’s Friend and they emailed to say everyone must get on, as I’d had a lady sitting the other end of the coach to avoid someone. So I wrote this story in response, sent it on the Monday and it came back on the Wednesday:))

  2. We’ve just done our fence – when I say we, I mean he 😉 Your tea cosy looks fab – I love knitting, but I’m not very good at it. Loved your story 🙂 xx

    1. Hi Teresa, great that you’ve popped in. I’m not brilliant, and don’t know why I have a tendency to make up the pattern as I go along? Knitting is quite relaxing for me though and I love chosing lovely wool and an easy pattern:) Glad you loved the story, thanks for reading it. It was written for my favorite magazine, People’s Friend, but it came back, and lay in a cupboard for a while. xx

    1. Hello, Lovely Lynne, and me as well. Not sure it’s good for the lungs mind you. Of course, the lovely Hettie. That’s one of my favorite programmes, and I’ve been thrilled to see it back on t.v. as well. That’s where I’ve got it from then.

  3. I’ve never taken to knitting. I think it’s because when I was a cadet in the St Johns Ambulance Brigade we had to knit 6x6in squares to make into blankets. I’m not sure what happened to the blankets, but I’ve not been tempted to pick up a ball of wool since.

    1. That’s a shame, Julia. I’ve knitted since the age of 5, and both grandma’s always had knitting on the go and mum knits all the time now. I can understand how that experience would put you off though.

    1. Thank you, Jan. I wrote the story ages ago, and when our daughter read it yesterday, she said, “I bet Sophie will be like that.” Keep going with the shawl. It will be something for him to keep, and snuggly and warm as well. Now I’m crocheting a blanket as the pink and white wool is sitting there doing nothing, and I’ve finished the tea cosy. I might have to buy some more to make it a snuggle blanket though:))

Leave a Reply

