A jog with a view

I’ve been going to the gym most days over the last week. On Thursday, me and my gym buddy got to the reception. I’d love to blog about what happened next, but on a scale of 1 – 10 it comes around about 9 and a half, so I have to send it off to my favorite laughter pages of That’s Life. They seem to like my funnies and have printed quite a few so far and are always asking me for more. Seeing as they pay well, must give it a chance. He spent the next five minutes texting everyone to tell them about it. I couldn’t exercise for laughing either for quite a while.

His brother was one of the text recipients, and he happened to be going for a run on the same morning; outdoors around Torbay where he lives. This is the picture he sent me of early morning sun shining over my little Brixham bay.

V__CB58Brixham

 

The picture on the right was taken last September, looking across to where he took this one from.

It’s been a cold but fresh day here today, so I’ve been chopping up the wood from our old shed that’s been stored in the greenhouse. Now we’ve got tons of firesticks, and the greenhouse is a bit clearer than it was. Next I’m going to make a base for a half shed so that we can clear out the shed that’s so full you can’t get in it. And, we have a bathroom booked. It’ll be a while before the busy plumber can come and sort it all out, but it will be done some time before the summer. And I’ve made up two spring baskets. It was so chilly at tea time though, they’re in the greenhouse with the sticks until it warms up a bit.

Now I’m off for a cup of tea and to watch the voice. And I forgot to mention that I got head hunted the other day. I was about to start cleaning in one of the cabin offices at the building site when a man approached. I said, “Did  you want Ray, or Jim?”

He said, “Neither of them, you.” Oh, I had a quick think as to what I might have done wrong, like go the wrong way round the site, or not wearing my hard hat. Then he handed me a card and told me he needed good workers as he’s the director of a cleaning company. I started saying, “Oh, yes, I do this that and the other.”

He said, “I know, I’ve seen you.” Wonder if that was when I slopped water up my jeans, or did a twirl with the mop. Either way, I’ll keep the number handy.

Have a great rest of the weekend, and a good week ahead.

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

16 thoughts on “A jog with a view”

    1. Oh, I know, Bea you’d be rolling on the floor, but it’s too good not to send out. That’s what we both shouted to each other across the workout stations. ‘That has to go to the magazine.’ I’ll let you know if it gets accepted.

    1. Thanks, Rosemary. I’m quite particular as I like to make sure the 120 chaps have clean tables and plenty of soap and towels and fresh drinking water in those big bottles as well. And the office workers as well, but the ground workers canteen gets more attention as there’s more of them. They do appreciate me I know because they tell me. I’ll let you know about the funny. I’m sure it’ll keep us in laughs for a good while:))

    1. Hi, Wendy, I’m well into it now as it helps give me stamina for my job and other things in my day. If it gets published, and I’ve had things not so funny accepted from That’s Life, then I can tell you when to go and have a look in the letters page. I’ve got quite a collection. Then again, I collect funnies without even trying. Or maybe it’s one of those ‘you had to be there’ I’ll let you know.

  1. How lovely to be appreciated, and head hunted too. Not sure I would go to the gym, even for a funny story, but well done for always being in writers mode. You never know where a good story will turn up.

    1. Yes, Maggie, I’m always listening out or watching out for a good story line. Whether they’ll want it or not I don’t know, but worth a go as I often post things on the blog that might have earned a bob or two in a magazine.

    1. You’re right, Patsy. A good laugh is a great way to burn a few hundred calories. I have a habit of laughing when I’m in the middle of something like hanging off the monkey bars, and swinging my knees up. I’m alright until my gym buddy says ‘What’s that move you’re doing?’ I make it up as I go along sometimes:)))

    1. Hope so Jan. It’s one of those things that’s so simple, and funny at the time. Hope they like it then I can let you know when to go and have a peep on the letters page.

    1. Thank you, Linda. I’d love love to post it on my blog, but I’m due to send a funny to That’s Life and it was a bit of a screamer. Especially at such an early hour in the morning. One of my funnies in That’s Life was me handing over my library card instead of gym card. This one’s funnier than that, so keeping fingers crossed as well.

Leave a Reply

