A touch of Cilla

I know we’re well into the new year, but didn’t you just love that bit when Cilla’s voice rang out into the London sky? We did, so incase you missed it, there it is.

So, I’ve started on chapter one of my next Redington book, and most of our left over chocs and nibbles have gone, so looking forward to getting back to normal after the weekend.

Red and pink cyclamen plants are flowering in the garden, so incase of a frost, they’re now in pots and indoors.

flowers 2ndflowres 2nd 2

Would be a shame if a frost killed them off, and the pink one is full of buds underneath those lovely leaves.

 

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

20 thoughts on “A touch of Cilla”

  1. I’m interested to hear about your Redington Book. I guess this is a fictional place in Norfolk. Have these stories been published elsewhere or have you put them together as a new collection? As for all the new shoots that are appearing in the garden and plants that keep flowering, I worry about those frosts that are sure to come soon.

    1. Hi, Maggie, glad you popped in with your quick response. Yes, Redington is fictional, and the stories were published as nine seperate stories. One a month on Creative Frontiers, in serial form. That site has now folded. Now I’m hooked on my imaginary village and looking forward to writing more stories. I didn’t want to let the cyclamen die off as I haven’t seen them in flower in January before. The grass is long as well.

  2. Glad to hear you’ve started your 2016 writing year already. Well done. I’ve forgotten what ‘normal’ feels like but plan to rediscover it when I sit at my desk again on Monday. Lovely flowers, by the way.

    1. Thanks, Bea, yes and they’re opening up more from being inside as well. I wanted to get going again as I had quite a long break over Christmas as family were here, and I like to spend time with them. Also I’m making more plans this year to write more hopefully.

  3. Happy new year, Suzy and thanks for the card. Do you think it’s time to get rid of the snowfall on this page? It’s beginning to look distinctly like rain to me. Perhaps because that’s all we’ve seen for weeks and weeks and weeks.

    1. Ha ha, Happy New Year to you as well, Lynne. Glad you got the card, and I’m not in control of that snow, it appears as if by magic and then disappears soon. Wish we could control the pesky rainfall the same. Especialy for our friends up North. Hope they don’t have to put up with that much longer.

  4. My family have ‘encouraged’ me to stay away from work for ten whole days. That’s the trouble with working from home: the office is always only a room away. I’m itching to get back to business now. Thanks for the Cilla link, bless her.

    1. That’s nice that they encourage you to stay away from work, Julia. My desk is in the room with a cosy real coal fire, so it’s a pleasure to sit there and type away and then swing round and watch the flames. I’m a Cilla fan as you can gather. She’s like Marmite, isn’t she? I like Marmite as well.

    1. Happy New Year to you as well, Patsy. Thanks for the luck, I sure need it, and thank goodness for my writing buddies to steer me in the right direction, otherwise who knows where the stories would go.

  5. I am still finding my way round WordPress Susan. Can you tell me how to show the list of blogs I follow in the column to the right and a friend not on WordPress has asked how she can follow me automatically. I have tried the ‘manage’ button but not sure what to put when asked for their URL. Sorry to bother you.

    1. Hi, Maggie, you’re not a bother at all, and I’ll help if I can. Go into settings, and then wp admin. Then look for links and a link picture. I’ll have to go through it and see what happens next.

    2. For the blog follow widget they call it, click on appearance, it looks like a paintbrush. If you scroll down, you’ll see a box that says, BLOGS I FOLLOW, click and drag that to the side of your blog. Then you have to go to the persons blog you follow, and put the full url in the empty box. There’s choices of an email sign up box. Drag that to anywhere on the side of your blog. Also there’s a follow button that people can click on to follow your blog. When you get into the appearance widgets, you can add goodreads account or a facebook plugin, which I must activate myself. Playing around with it is the way I learn. Good luck and if you need any more help, give us a shout:))

      1. Thank you so much for taking the time to reply. When I have time later I will have a look. You are right, the best way to find out is to experiment. I’m just worried that I will delete or change something that I can’t reverse. I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

