What’s missing?

We’ve had a smashing weekend, and got rid of some dead wood. If you look closely, at the pictures, you’ll see what I mean.

Al where shed wasold shedSue where shed wasWhere that old green shed was, is where we sat to go, ‘Yahoo, the shed has disappeared…’ It was due to be demolished about ten years ago, and kept coming in handy. Like when we finished at our shop, lots of boxes of bits and bobs went in there. And if a family member moved in, or out, or moved house and needed a bit of storage, it came in handy. There comes a time though, when it has to go.

A few hefty kicks and it fell down, then Alan chopped it up. We’ve got plenty of sticks for our open fire ready for when the nights get colder. And sometime, though not immediately, we plan to have sliding doors where that wall is to walk out into the garden. And a bit of a yard put down. Hopefully that won’t take as long as it did for the shed to come down.

TobyToby n AlThis is Toby, our youngest Son’s dog, or sometimes he is, because he lives somewhere else. They are devoted as you see from the picture. He’s a cute doggie as well, and so well-behaved for a sheep dog. Shame he only appears now and again.

I’m now editing my Redington collection for create space, and a real book. As a rough guess, I’d say I’ve read those stories around fifty times now, but has to be done and I can’t believe how much I love commas. Think I need to go back to grammar classes. Good job I have a collection of reference books to hand.

Until next time, have a great week everyone……….. dots for Rona………………..,,,,,,commas for me,,,,,,………………………………………………………,,,,,,,………………………………………………………….

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

19 thoughts on “What’s missing?”

    1. Very observant of you, Keith. And that was the thing, it kept coming in useful for one thing and another. Erm, Tamworth Castle, that one that’s been around for hundreds of years? No, haven’t a clue… Thought a harbour picture would be a change.

  1. Our shed was knocked down by my son – who is also called Alan – kicking a football up against it, many years ago. When we eventually removed its rotting wooden carcass, we converted the few square feet it occupied into our vegetable patch.

    1. Thanks, Rosemary, now I’m too tired to go my normal walk. Good to have a rest as well though. And almost finished reading through for about the seventieth time… Toby is smashing isn’t he?

  2. Great job, Susan. I bet that was the perfect stress relief 🙂 Good luck with the editing. Apparently, I love the semi-colon so I’ll come with you to grammar school 🙂 Have a lovely week.

    1. Amazing stress relief, Nicola and I’m not even stressed. I also quite like ; and : so useful in a long sentence. Grammar is something we take for granted I think. I also get mixed up with names, Nicola, like is a comma before and after a name all the time or only in speech. Reading helps to find that out, and it’s in speech mainly, I think. Books to hand just in case… or is that incase?

  3. That’s a very cute dog.

    I have a shed on my allotment – well actually it’s almost entirely repairs. The roof, door, shelves, window, half the floor and most of the overlapping wood on the sides has been replaced.

  4. Aww Toby is so lovely – I want to cuddle him! We used to have a shed. It started to fall down, so we knocked it down and oh the spiders that had taken up residence in there! They were probably responsible for making it fall down. We can do without sheds though can’t we? 🙂 xx

    1. Hi, Teresa, you’d love him. I need to re-write that story I had on the go with you in mind. Nothing turns out the way we think it might though does it? Spiders, yes, slugs and all kinds of nest of creatures. We wore gloves, and big boots. (Well, I did when I kicked it down:))))
      There is a newer shed and a greenhouse at the bottom of the garden, so we’re glad of more space for sitting in… xx

Leave a Reply

