Latest Redington story.

On Monday 24th November, my latest Redington story will appear on Creative Frontiers.

The story for this month is called, Treacle Toffee & Poisoned Coffee. A time slip story, and hope you

enjoy it if you tune in every day to see what happens. It is Sebastian and Claire’s story, and it begins

when they go to the winter fair that turns up in Redington.

Redington V11

Following on from my last post, Keith Lindsay has the answers to some of your questions as well….

Seems there are a couple of follow up questions so:

Who do I test my jokes on?

Welllll, firstly I don’t really write jokes, I write funny; that is I find humour in characters in a given situation and their reactions to it. As for testing it, I rely on my instinct, you can only really write what you find funny and hope there’s an audience for it. My opinion anyway.

Do you know who will play the parts of the characters before you write?
Or do you write with anyone in mind?

Hmmm, I feel the need for a multi-part answer: If you’re writing for someone else’s show then obviously you know the actors playing the parts, but that shouldn’t really influence your writing – it has more to do with the house style of the show than the actors strengths or otherwise.

If, as in the case of Birds of a Feather, the show is being written with particular actors in mind then maybe consideration is given to what the actor can bring to the part. That said I’m of the opinion that you should write parts actors will want to play not parts they can play.

Finally unless I’m asked to write for a specific person I really never have anyone in mind when I create characters, I prefer to produce the most interesting and funny character I can with their own voice as opposed to hearing only one actor in my head. I mean why limit yourself to one when there are so many to choose from, bit like pick and mix.

Thanks all for the kind comments.

Keith

Now for the December giggle blog, this is a funny one. It was so funny to me, I was in our front window wishing

I had some of those protective pants. those you wear when you get to a cetain age, because I laughed so much it

was a time for crossing legs. And why didn’t I take a picture? Because I might have had my camera chucked over the

hedge, maybe………. that’s at the beginning of December, and involves a rottweiler dog, a big fat hippo sized one.

I came on the longlist of the Alfie dog competition, and good luck to all on the shortlist. Sadly I didn’t make it to that one.

Now to round up my story, and get it finished in time for Monday…………………………………….. and it now has a dog following Lynne Hackles advice on Creative Frontiers.

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

10 thoughts on “Latest Redington story.”

    1. I know, Lynne. Ra ra cha cha cha…. that’s me jingling my tambourine, and doing high kicks in readiness for the publication of my story… ha ha. Oh, maybe not. Likely to pull something if I did high kicks these days.

  1. Thanks, Rosemary. I was thrilled to see my title among the list. And now that story has gone off to Woman’s Weekly for an outing. I’m sure it’ll come sailing back to me, but it’s worth a try, as it hasn’t been published anywhere yet… Hope you enjoy my next Redington, and giggle. I think this one will be the funniest giggle of the year. And it’s an antidote to that one back in April or May…. you’ll see what I mean in December.

    1. Thank you, Teresa. I was amazed to see my title on there, and now it’s gone off to ‘Woman’s Weekly.’ It’s a story I like, and one I wrote originally in Keith Lindsay’s class, so hope it does well.

    1. Hi Patsy, I’m back on the planet. I’ve been in Redington for the last few days getting the story finished. Now I can grab a cup of coffee, not poisoned of course, and have a look at your other year in the garden. Glad you called in.

Leave a Reply

