My novel…

Some of you who follow my blog may know that I’m working on a novel… Hats off to Love. A romance, set in the 1970’s.

Well, I’m proud to tell you that I’m on the shortlist of the RNA, new talent awards. Have a look here. I entered the competition a while ago, and had the email the other day.

I recognise some names, like Samantha Tonge who was a guest on my blog recently, and Sue Moorcroft of course. Also, Liz Fenwick and Linda Mitchelmore. Also, Debbie Fuller White who is in the same category as me.

So now I’m polishing up my first three chapters and synopsis to take with me to the event, where the shortlisted people are invited to an exclusive reception prior to the awards. Sounds good doesn’t it, and I’m glad I’m able to go, even though we were due to go away on that weekend, but we can go a day later.

canalI’m putting this picture in, as a canal features in the story.

Also, I’m working on another Redington story for Creative Frontiers… It’s a ghost one, but the ghost is taking it’s time to appear in the story. I’m sure it, he/she will manifest soon…..

Digital imageHere’s me and my love, to inspire the romantic writing, and you can never have enough flowers can you>? So here’s some red roses.

Digital image

Digital imageAnd a hat…. I was the only one at the wedding in a hat, but someone has to wear one don’t they? Even if our youngest son told me I looked like the person who’d turned up with the take-away…. cheeky isn’t he?

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

22 thoughts on “My novel…”

  1. I did hear a loud cheer Lynne, thank you. Will let you know how I go on. Lovely hubs is driving me there, otherwise I’d end up in Upper Blockingham knowing me. Then he’ll pop off for something to eat and have a mooch while I’m there…. then we’ll come home. I’m trying to grow my nails, and get them into a decent state for when I go and collect my prize, don’t you know:)))) No, I’m a bit nervous really:/ Will be nice to meet the other shortlisted writers though.

    1. Hi Jan, glad your a mad hatter as well. I was wondering if I could wear one on the night, but might be a little ott. Before long I get my wooly ones out though. Some of them are a bit scary. I knitted a grey and white one with a huge pom pom on. Went into a bar in Ashby de la Zouch, (no it’s not a joke, but my hat was apparently) I walked up to the bar to order some food and the bar girl looked at the hat as if it was a penguin. She didn’t take her eyes off it and said, ‘You’ll have to take that off before I can serve you!’ It wasn’t that bad… or maybe it was:))))) Thanks for your lucky wishes. You’ll be the first to know. xx

  2. Wow, that’s fantastic news and so exciting, Susan! Congratulations and good luck 🙂

    I think you look lovely in your hat – and I think it is in a son’s job description that they have to tease their mum 🙂 x

    1. You’re right Teresa, and mine do the job well. It’s great to have family that you can have a laugh with though isn’t it? And I know they love me lots… Thank you for your support and encouragement. I’ll let you know…xx:)))

  3. Brilliant news, Susan ~ so exciting, I’m really pleased for you! What a lovely photo of you and your inspiration ~ and I’ve no idea what your son was talking about, cheeky thing! Good luck with the awards! 🙂

  4. Oh well done and many congratulations Sue. How exciting. Gorgeous photos. I think i t’s such a shame hats aren’t worn any more – they made weddings special I think! I got such a lovely one for my daughter’s wedding but, alas, it’s sat in the box ever since. Just no call for them now is there 😦 xx

    1. Well, yes, if you could call it that Patsy:)) Not sure about chapter 11 onwards:/? Thanks for the luck, I’ll let you know after next weekend. I want to win, but if I do, that’s when the real hard work starts. Alan says to me, ‘keep an open mind, I don’t want you to be disappointed.’ He sure keeps my feet on the ground:))

    1. I think it’s tradition, and I always will as well. Even if I do look like the take-away woman. Gives the others something to talk about if we turn up in a funny hat eh? I can’t be doing with those silly feathers. An old lady in our shop once told me, ‘They don’t wear hats now, they wear passionate-rs…

Leave a Reply

