A Writing Retreat/ I’m versatile.

Here’s my latest writing retreat.

That’s because I’m a versatile blogger, it’s official, Jan Banham says so. Now I have to tell you seven things about me.- That’s my writing bench, so there’s one…

ATT00013versatile-blogger

And this is the view from there, which I love, that’s number two.

Digital imageAnd the castle gardens are looking great at this time of the year as well.

Digital image

I finished my early morning job, and the sun was shining, so I had a few hours, before Alan finished his cover work for someone who was off.

Now where better could there be to find a bench, after having a cup of coffee and a cake, to write. This wonderful spot is between my work and his. Aren’t we lucky? The castle and the bandstand are to the left of the gardens.

I’m working on Redington 111 for Creative Frontiers. It’s coming on quite well, and I got lots done, with the sound of children’s laughter coming from the play park, and the peaceful ducks and swans gliding past were great to see as well. Not surprisingly, my characters are at at pub, with a wide river at the bottom of the garden, with swans gracefully gliding past.

Tamworth is in the line up for Britain in Bloom, and I’m sure they might win. Will keep you informed on that. Funny how you can be busy working, driving around, and not take time to find that bench, and have a few hours to relax.

Hope the new story goes down well with C.F. Editor. It’s called ‘Murder at Brook House Farm.’

With lots of help from my writing buddies, writecritical, it might be in shape on time for the deadline.

Here’s one more photo….

Digital imageOh, and one more.Digital imageWhere’s your outdoor writing retreat?

The fourth thing about me, is that I love going to the gym. That’s where you’ll find me on a Saturday morning, or the library.

Fifth item is that one of my favorite foods are peaches. Which reminds me, must look for some.

Number six, is that I love anything funny. I recently went to see someone regarding an article for a local magazine. I noticed that it was a barn type building, in a rural setting, lovely. All the doors were open, and as I tried with a bit of difficulty to get in the one that was open, I realised I’d gone through the window not the door. Made me feel like a female version of Johnny English. (Rowan Atkinson) To make it worse, I made a big fuss saying, ‘oh, did I come through the window, not the door?’

Number seven is that I like music, and sing as often as I can. Here’s one I love, and especially the reggae version.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ohwhb9i5-8o

 

If any of my lovely followers, and welcome to the new ones, want the versatile award, please take it. I don’t like passing them on. It’s summer time. Too much to do, like listen to the above:))

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

14 thoughts on “A Writing Retreat/ I’m versatile.”

  1. Hi Sally, we work in Tamworth, but live a drive away, over the border in to Warwickshire. Glad I waited for a lift though. I could have gone home on the train, but imagine what I’d have missed out on. Funny how we can write better in different surroundings as well. Hope they win the Britain in Bloom. And hope I win the RNA new talent competition as well:))

    1. Yes, Teresa, it’s so peaceful, and yet a lot going on as well. I wrote loads in my new flowery note book with black gel pens. I must go there again, in-between shifts. Glad you called in. Always lovely to hear from you. xx

  2. Lovely photos of your retreat, Sue. I only tend to write away from the computer if I’m away from home but after reading this, I may start. I love the sound of your new notebook and gel pens. Thank you for taking the time to tell us these facts about yourself when you are so busy. I’m always amazed and impressed with how much you get done. 🙂

    1. Hi Jan, it’s a pleasure. I popped in to a pound shop for the notebook and pens. I forgot the golden rule, to always carry a notebook and pen, and I knew I was going to the Castle gardens to write as well. The new pens flow like magic though and the notebook is a thick spiral one. Only two pound as well for the book and two pens. There’s a lovely cafe that makes nice coffee nearby as well. And cakes of course. In the summer, it’s almost like being on holiday to go somewhere you don’t go every day, that’s only a bus or train ride away. We work five minutes away from there anyway, both of us. Talk soon, and glad you called in. xx

  3. What a lovely blog post. Fascinated to read about you. I shall be popping by again for more tips. Like the one about finding new outdoor spaces, wherever you live.

    1. Hello Maggie, glad you popped in. And it’s always good to be outdoors as much as we can this weather isn’t it? Where’s your outdoor space? Hope to see you back here soon. xx

  4. Hi Susan,
    Just had a quick look round catching up with your last few posts as I’ve been without my computer for what seems like ages.
    Love your park bench but I don’t think I’d get much writing done there – too many distractions! Getting out and about is great for getting the ideas flowing and thinking about what I’m going to write next, but the best place to actually put words on paper or screen is indoors away from the window.

    1. Hi Linda, I’m back on line now. The new router came today. Funny how some people find a park relaxing and write better, and others would find it distracting. I think the change of scenery was good for the creative side of my brain. xx

Leave a Reply

