Books I’ve read lately.

I’ve read some great books over the last fortnight. Here are some of them.

 

Night on the Orient Express.

Orient Express coverAll to say is, ‘a must read book’ and Veronica Henry has done Agatha Christie proud. She’d love it!

Vivien’s heavenly Ice Cream shop.

by Abbey Clementsice cream_One tip… get ice cream in before you start reading, because it makes you fancy some.

Death of a poison pen…

poison penHamish is on the trail of a malicious letter writer. As well as fighting off the ladies. Another funny read by M.C. Beaton.

Bones under the Beach Hut.

by Simon Brett.

Bones beach hutIf you haven’t read any of the Feathering mysteries with Carole and Jude, then I’d recommend the duo who are as different as chips and cucumber…. A great relaxing read for the summer.

When you walked back into my life.

By Hilary Boyd.

back into lifeGreat read, I liked it a lot. Plenty of twists and turns, romantic and worth reading.

A spoonful of poison.

spoonful of poisonAgatha Raisin is on the case, and getting into trouble again. M.C. Beaton has done it again.

 

Hope you’re reading good books. Now I’m going to read A country Affair, by Rebecca Shaw…..

country affairSet in a Vet’s practice, great characters, and lovely setting……..

 

 

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

16 thoughts on “Books I’ve read lately.”

  1. Yes Rosemary, they are. One of these days I’ll get into this century and buy a kindle… At the moment my kindle is on the computer, and it doesn’t feel so relaxing to sit at the desk to read. A kindle is on my ‘will buy one soon’ list, then I can read more of yours.. I have started the Manor one, and I love the setting. Thanks for popping in. xx

    1. No Lynne, I just read something that takes my fancy. I’ve got lots of kindle reads mounting up, but my kindle’s on the computer until I get one…. I like cosy crimes, and country reads, also the M.C. Beaton series as you can tell. Glad you popped in. What are you reading at the mo? xx

      1. I can’t tell you what I’m reading because it’s not published yet. I’m reading a novel for a friend who wants me to comment on it. It will be out in a couple of month’s time.

  2. Oh fabulous. Hilary Boyd. Read her Thursdays in the Park which was a fantastic story. And A Country Affair looks great too. Thank you for the heads up – I think. Oh the pressure!! Writing to do, Wimbledon to watch, Magazine stories to catch up on, and SO many novels. Heyho! Better to be busy than bored :o) xx

  3. Hi Sue, yes I know I’ll be searching out more of her books, and she is a relatively new author I think. Country Affair is a gentle page turner. I love all Rebecca Shaw’s books. I agree, no time to be bored ever….. Glad you called in.. xx

  4. I’ve not read any of these. I’ll add them to the list. I’m reading Ruby Wax’s book ‘Sane New World: Taming The Mind’. Fascinating stuff about how the brain works.

  5. A great range of books, Susan. I’ve recently finished Death of a Charming Man, another of the Hamish McBeth books and I’m with you on the Fethering mysteries by Simon Brett, too. I’ve had a couple of books to review recently, something that helps me look outside my comfort zone as it were. As for the Kindle, like you I rely on using my computer for reading ebooks but family members have ebooks downloaded to their tablets, gadgets that have more than one use.

    1. Hello Ann, great to hear from you. I must start at the beginning with Hamish. I keep reading one here and there, but I love the humour, and the Scottishness about them. We need to get a kindle Ann…..

  6. Wow, you’ve been busy, Sue. All new titles for me so that’s good. I read a lot of titles on recommendation so thanks. Loved the two Juliet Greenwood books you recommended!

    1. Hi Jan, yes, they’re all good. When I’ve had a rejection too many, I engross myself into books and try to learn something. Also I get my knitting out. Glad you popped by. xx

Leave a Reply

