That’s Life!

My letter is on the back pages of That’s Life! It’s one about when me and our daughter went shopping.

This is one I found in a handbag when I was sorting out my wardrobe. I should have sent it a year ago,

so sent it in this springtime. I was thrilled to have the email saying, ‘we’d like to use your letter in issue 22 of That’s Life.’

Digital imageNext door pussy cat still keeps popping in when he gets the chance. He jumps up on my keyboard, and shoves his nose onto my fingers to stop me typing. His name’s Leo. I’m going to use this photo for the ‘before’ one, when I’m not such a fat person as this.

The great thing is, that you can email your letters or funny stories, or tips, or other regular items, and they pay

well.

Also, hope you’ve had chance to read The Redington Millions, which is the featured serial on Creative Frontiers this week.

It’s the story that has been running from Monday through to Friday, and is set in the village of Redington, in mid-Norfolk.

The plan is to write more stories set in Redington, then when I’ve got enough, they will go into an e-book.

And, I had some income from my amazon stories today. I won’t say how much, but something. So I’m pleased about that.

Still working on the novel, and glad it’s still a working process because I’ve had a change of thought. Also some new ideas.

I’m reading ‘Our man in Havana’ by Grahame Greene. A good story, and plenty of humour.

 

 

 

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

16 thoughts on “That’s Life!”

  1. That’s great to hear it’s published in That’s Life, Suzy! If you have time, you’re welcome to come over and join the fun at my launch party (on blog and FB)!

    1. It is Sally, and great pay for a few words as well. This is the fourth letter That’s Life have printed from me, and they still ask for more. I wonder if people will be sick of seeing my name, but if they keep asking, I’ll keep sending. I think they should give me a column don’t you?:)))

    1. Thanks Patsy, that’s kind of you to say. And thanks for all the comments you left as well. It’s one of those stories that went to a couple of the womags, but I didn’t want to change it that much. So glad that Martin West likes my stories for the chance to get it seen and read. Now I’m working on more Redington stories.

  2. Fancy that Teresa, this one’s so loveable. He jumps right up on the desk, and stands in-between the key board and the screen until I give him a cuddle. Then he purrs like a tractor. If he’s in our garden, and me or Alan open the door, or even look out of the window, he jumps up as if he’s saying ‘hurray, they’re in’ and then he comes bounding up to us. Glad you popped in. xx

  3. Congratulations on the letter, Sue. I enjoyed your story on Creative Frontiers, especially how you ended each installment so that we wanted to read the next one. 🙂

  4. Thanks Jan, glad you enjoyed it. It was Martin’s idea to split the story up and have cliff hangers. I only had to up the drama at the end of each section. Now I’m into the duff duff moments, I’m off to send a script to Corrie… only joking, I don’t watch soaps any more. I’m going to write my own. Readington….

Leave a Reply

