Ivor pussy cat.

Digital imageThis little chap keeps popping in to say hello. Cute eh?

He isn’t ours, and we have new people next door, who are out at work all day, so we are guessing he belongs to them. He likes to come and have a fuss though. He trots in as if he lives here. In our back kitchen, there’s a window, that looks out on to a shed. He began by sitting on the shed roof, and peering in to the kitchen. Must have liked what he saw.  He’s adopted us as his daytime people… Must ask them what his name is. I think Ivor suits him.

Looking at all those chins, think Ivor got to get down the gym as well. At least I started back swimming over the last couple of weeks. Swimming, I find is more relaxing; especially as the water is really warm this time of the year. The leisure centre card gives you access to the gym as well, so maybe next week…

Digital imageWhat, you like to take pictures of me? Oh, yes, I am lovely though aren’t I….

Digital imageNope, no sign of my owners, so might as well hang around with these oldies for a while. They talk to me and fuss me anyway.

The synopsis and first three chapters of my novel have gone off to Diane Banks, agent. Keeping fingers crossed, also working on the rest of it. Well, she might read it, then throw her hands in the air and scream…..’where has she been all this time, get the whole lot in here, we need to publish. asap….’

Latest news, I won a book. This one….. by Juliet Greenwood. I’m thrilled, as I also have her first book. Eden’s Garden. Looking forward to reading that. Also, I’ve discovered Dorothy L. Sayers.  She writes like a combination of Wodehouse and Agatha Christie. Old-fashioned, mystery. The one I’m on is ‘Busman’s Holiday.’ Also reading Frances Di Plino set of three psychological thrillers. Scary, but good.

Have a great week, writing and otherwise……. till next time….

 

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

16 thoughts on “Ivor pussy cat.”

  1. Love the name for your visiting cat! I’m not a cat lover but know what you mean about ‘next -door’ cats. Ours is called Pebbles and he seems to have adopted us! We’ve found him in the greenhouse, under the cars, in the chiminea, anywhere apart from his own place really….
    Well done you on sending off three chapters and the synopsis of your novel, Sue. I do hope Diane Banks comes back with good news for you.
    Juliet Greenwood’s book sounds great – I love historical fiction so am thinking of getting it to take on hols next week.
    I love reading your posts BTW. They always make me smile. 🙂

  2. Glad to make you smile Jan. I’m not normally a cat person. We don’t encourage him. (says she with him in her arms:0) We’ve had dogs more than cats. You can’t ignore the chappie though can you?
    Juliet’s other book is amazing, so I know this one will be good. Happy hols, going anywhere nice?

      1. Sounds good Jan. I always plan to write when we go away. It gives a new slant on everything. Hope the weather keeps nice; look forward to hearing about it when you get back. Bon Voyage….

  3. Isn’t he handsome your visitor! Very beautiful and he knows just where to come for a nice cuddle 🙂
    Good luck with Diane Banks – hope you have good news soon x

    1. Thanks Rena for the luck. Yes, he seems quite at home with us. I’m sure he belongs to the new neighbours though, and he’s never hungry, so they look after him well. Bet they don’t know what he gets up to in the daytime though:))

    1. Me too Patsy. I’m reading Busman’s Honeymoon. Now I want to get others in the collection. I’m sure Agatha Christie followed her, and Wodehouse. Now Patsy Davies and Suzy Jones follow her too.

  4. Good luck with your novel, Sue. Hope you get some useful and encouraging feedback.
    Can relate to your cat story. We have never owned a cat but when we moved into this house Tom, the farm cat from next door,used to visit, entering by the patio door and patrolling the entire house before leaving by the front door. Seems he had been a regular visitor when it was being built and felt it was his territory. He even presented us with a (dead) rat one day. I wrote about it in an article for a cat magazine, my challenge for the year being to write for titles I thought impossible!
    Enjoy D L Sayers books. I read them all years ago when there was a series on BBC starring Ian Carmichael as Lord Peter Wimsey. (That dates me as I pretty sure it was in B&W!) Must get round to re-reading them but like you I have a stack on new material to read and there is never enough time.
    Ann

  5. Hi Ann, thanks for the luck. I do need it… Dorothy L. Sayers is quite funny, and whimsical. Easy to read as well. I plan to get the whole collection. Well done on the cat article. I’m sure he’ll inspire a story or two. Will let you know if I get a reply from Diane Banks. On the website, it says, we aim to bet back to you within 2 weeks.

  6. Love you’re pussycat,Sue. She looks very much like ours. Light gingers are a bit of a rarity and always female. Keep going with novel and the gym and I’m sure you’ll enjoy Dorothy Sayers very much.

  7. Oh, so Ivor is a girl. She belongs to next door, I just gave her that name for fun. She’ll have to be Ivy then… Yes, went to the gym today…. phew…. will get better in a week or two. Enjoying Busman’s Honeymoon. Thanks for popping by.

Leave a Reply

