January 25th – Burn’s Night.

Maybe you celebrate Burn’s night, or not, but here’s a typical menu that might be on offer.

STARTER

Cock-a leekie soup

Or

Fruit Juice

MAIN COURSE

Haggis with neeps and tatties

Or       

Faggots mash and peas

DESSERT

Cranachan        

Or

Strawberry Shortbread

Do you think Scotland would be better off being independent or not? I hope we all stay as Great Britain. England, Ireland, Scotland Wales, all have something unique to offer. Now, you may think what has all this got to do with writing, as it’s normally a writing type of blog. Burns was a poet, and a great one at that, so here’s one of his poems to finish off with.

Address To A Haggis

Fair fa’ your honest, sonsie face,
Great chieftain o’ the puddin-race!
Aboon them a’ ye tak your place,
Painch, tripe, or thairm:
Weel are ye wordy of a grace
As lang’s my arm.

The groaning trencher there ye fill,
Your hurdies like a distant hill,
Your pin wad help to mend a mill
In time o’ need,
While thro’ your pores the dews distil
Like amber bead.

More here

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

8 thoughts on “January 25th – Burn’s Night.”

  1. Ah, Burns Night… That brings back many happy memories. If you haven’t sampled Haggis, Susan, you don’t know what you’re missing. I still get misty-eyed when people start reciting The Bard. Roll on January 25. Rx

  2. Thanks Rena, I’m inquisitive, so I think this might be the year I try it. His poetry is fascinating isn’t it. My mother and her parents had some Scottish friends, and he was the man who always addressed the haggis. I thought what a strange thing to do, but it’s tradition, I know. Burn’s night brings back memories for my mum as well.

  3. You’re so right, Susan – Britain is such a wonderful combination of cultures … I think that benefits every country! Here’s to Robbie Burns … I can hear a lyrical Scottish voice reciting this poem! Thanks for sharing. XO

Leave a Reply

