In search of a job, and upholstery.

I’m off to an interview tonight for a telephone job, similar to the one I’ve just been made redundant from. Yesterday I went for an interview in a taco restaurant. Lovely ladies, and the smell of taco’s and burrito’s and other things was divine. Made me want to stay there for that alone, and I had a tasty cup of coffee. And, would you believe it, I had to complete a test tonight for a job as an advisor; so hopefully will have something soon.

In the meantime, I’m still busy writing the novel. Lots of high and low points plotted out now. Just to add the in-between day to day items, such as weather and general chatter. My characters seem to drink a lot of tea and gossip. My main characters landlady has gone from being a grandma figure, to interfering busy body, to someone she’s almost likely to bump off before the novel’s finished. Perhaps I’ll send her off backpacking around Eastern Europe…. All will be revealed…

I had a break from the writing a day ago to do some upholstery. Have a look at the before and after.

Digital image

Digital image

Keep on writing to anyone else doing the November nano challenge……. half way there almost.
I found the fabric on ebay, Laura Ashely, the design is called Mr. Jones. I’m doing them for Alan’s Christmas present; his mum bought the stools over 10 years ago. Can’t believe I almost got some new ones, and was about to throw them out, now they’re good as new, and more material left to do the dining room chairs as well.

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

10 thoughts on “In search of a job, and upholstery.”

    1. Hi Rosemary, thank you. It’s not easy to get something you feel comfortable with is it? I’d best be comfortable at home writing…. but need to get out and earn a crust, if only to keep up with my magazine subscriptions and things:)))))

  1. I love the makeover! You are clever to do that! And you’re doing very well getting all these interviews – good luck! I think I’d like the one in the taco restaurant – sounds yummy (er I mean interesting!) 🙂 x

  2. Here’s hoping your next ‘problem’ will only be deciding which job offer to accept. (Or you could set up your own furniture restoration company …?)
    Pleased that NaNo is still going well.

    1. Ooh, there’s a thought Linda. Yes, I’m pleased with the results, and most importantly, Alan is chuffed as well. He was amazed, and said, ‘how did you do that?’ I did them while he was at work as a surprise when he came home. Will keep you informed on the job front. And nano as well of course.

Leave a Reply

