I’m nano-ing

I’ve signed up for nano, so here’s my badge, and hoping to get some words on the page for the month of November.

My writer friend Ann has pointed out that for anyone writing history, and anything concerning WW1, here is a good place to try.
Britain at War.

Also Best of British are asking for any stories or characters you can talk about for the 100th anniversary next year.

Had a nice afternoon with daughter Ann, who showed me this new app to play around with. bitstrips They’re not working at the moment, too many people trying to do it I think. You create an avatar for yourself, then there’s comic strips where you can post funny captions to your friends.

If you need some background music to help with the writing, try this.

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

18 thoughts on “I’m nano-ing”

  1. Ooh, good luck with NaNo! I did it last year for the first time and it was a great experience. I can’t do it this year because I’m studying now, on top of my job and the kids and everything else, so I couldn’t even consider doing it, but I would do it again another year.

  2. Good luck withy NaNo, Suzy. I’ve signed up too, although my new full length historical romance, Midwinter Masquerade, is just out! Pop into my main blog sometime today and you can join in the fun.

    1. Yes Sally, it seems a ridiculous amount of words, but I’m doing it to kick start the writing. I seem to think the novel is going to write itself. Maybe I’ll make a hash of it, but seems like a good idea, good luck to us eh?

  3. Good Luck with NaNo. I’ve done it several times, never managed to reach the magic 50,000, but it generated lots of new ideas and definitely helped me to write faster! Not doing it this year though because I’ve got several ‘proper’ writing projects going well and I don’t want to disrupt them.
    I enjoyed the Vivaldi, thank you!

    1. Hello Linda, thanks for the luck, I will surely need it…. I find the music is great for focusing on what you need to do, so I’ll be playing that while my fingers go clickety click across the keys.. That’s the plan anyway:)))

  4. Well done for committing yourself to Nano, Jane. With a full time job and a family, I’ve never found the time or the inclination. And thank you for those sources, which I will bookmark,

  5. Hello Charlie, yes I’ve signed up and got the badge… I have a full time job, and family and I’m not one for following rules either. What I’m doing is using my novel beginnings, and following on from Sally’s course, so that I can see where I’m going wrong, I’ll be re-writing and adding to that. Will let you know.

  6. Hi Susan, NaNo is a great experience. Just be prepared to write and write and write and don’t worry about editing or reading through what you’ve written. I’m doing it again this year. My user name is RuthL – why don’t you look me up and we can be buddies?

Leave a Reply

