July giggles

So, we’re into July, time for the giggle blog. I can giggle now, but when our job advisor told us we needed to look for 30 jobs a week, something didn’t seem right. I ended up sending for the same job twice in some instances. It was during a tea break at my computer class that several people said. ‘That can’t be right; it must be 15 jobs each.’ Off I went to see our advisor; when I asked him, he laughed and said, ‘no, it will be 30 jobs a week in the future.’ I’m hoping to start work in a fortnight as a –

<Front line, technical support, customer service, representative>

I’ll be answering the phone, helping people with problems on their computer like pay pal and amazon etc. When people try to ring them, they can never get hold of anyone, so now it’s me who’ll be on the phone. We don’t do any ringing out, only answer calls in. Then when our phone isn’t ringing, we get to write articles on other things technology wise, so sounds good. It helped that I did a computer course, and got 95%, think I mentioned that in my last post, but it’s my catchphrase for life now, so the ECDL Extra shows that I know my way around the computer. During the course, we had to put on headphones, and listen to a man’s voice saying. ‘Well done’ and ‘good work’ my tutor said, ‘you’ll get fed up of that voice in a day or two.’ I didn’t think I would, but it did get a bit patronising after a while. Then in part 4 of the course, it was a lady’s voice. Bright and breezy, so that was good. Then I came to the question and answer part. She said, in a posh voice. Now you try to answer these questions. I did, she said back to me.

‘No, not really, that’s not what we were thinking. You’d better go and try that again.’ I felt like unplugging her, but it was quite funny. Another day, the tutor had to go out for dinner, he was on his own. He told us he’d be locking the door, and off we went for our dinner. Later on, we were back at our computers, then footsteps came down the stairs, and someone tried the door. Then she shouted, let me in, I’m stuck in here. He’d locked the door to the upstairs kitchen, not realising someone had gone up there for lunch. The computer shop was great; situated on the high street, like a college, in a shop. Upstairs there was a teacher who was there to help people who didn’t know about the internet, my tutor was downstairs, and a receptionist who was booking people in.  While I was there, I saw some of my customers who used to come in the shop, and they were saying how much they miss our shop on the estate, so that was nice. Even though I’ve got a job lined up, we still have to send for jobs, because until I actually start work, I’m still (technically)looking for work

Last week, the day I passed my exams, when I rang Alan to tell him the good news, he was just stepping out of the car, off to work. Glad that I’d caught him, he said, ‘oh, great news, I’ll have to go, I’ve only got a minute before signing in time.’ So I rang off. Later that evening, I was in the middle of cooking pasties, I noticed a missed call off him. When I rang him back, he told me he’d tried to ring me, but at that same moment, he’d been called out on a spillage mission on aisle 5, so had to put the phone down. What had happened, was, when he’d hurriedly spoken on the phone, he’d locked the car keys in the car by mistake. I had a spare, but needed to get to where he was. Our Son was staying, from Torquay, but that day, he and his brother had gone to meet their Sister in Leicester. They’d gone on the train, so his car was outside. When I rang to see if he’d left the key in the house, he hadn’t, it was on him. They weren’t due to come back home on the train until later. As I was looking up the times of buses, our youngest Son rang. ‘Mum, don’t you get walking up the motorway, give Grandad a ring, he’s only round the corner.’ That was a good idea, I didn’t think of ringing Dad, but he was there in a flash, waiting outside when I needed a lift. So, there was I in the back of Dad’s car, plate of pasties, one each for Mum and Dad covered in a cloth on the floor. Mum asked me if I’d told Alan we were on our way. ‘Not really, he’s not supposed to take calls at work’ I said. ‘Tell him, never fear, help is at hand, we’re on our way!’ She is dramatic, but funny. So, everything turned out alright in the end.

IMG-20130702-WA000 (2)

I’ve been told that me and their Dad reverse into our drive like Austin Powers.

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

2 thoughts on “July giggles”

  1. Sounds like the perfect job for you, Susan, giving you the chance to use all your computer expertise and your writing skills. And as you say, much better than looking for work. But now you can put those job-hunting experiences (especially the funny ones) to good use in your stories.

Leave a Reply

