Gardener’s World.

Digital image
Sweet peas are now coming into flower. They need picking every day to make sure more flowers are produced.

We’re into July, and a heat wave is upon us. It’s time for my giggle blog, but that can wait until next week. My latest news is that I have a new job. More on that later in the month. I start mid July, and it’s a fab job. The men’s tennis semi-final is a great match, not sure when it’s ever going to end, but if like me, you miss Carol Klein and Monty Don in the Friday night Garden programme, never fear, Suzy gardener is here.

I always find thyme for blogging.
Lucky four leaf clover, or shamrock to be precise.
Lucky four leaf clover, or shamrock to be precise. It has a habit of rambling along the front border. Gives a smashing back drop to the taller flowers.

I popped a leaf and a flower into my pocket before I went off to my interview on Thursday morning. Glad I did. Think I’ll keep it there.

Hanging basket
Hanging basket

Now here is where the nursery part of the garden is. Where all the seeds are started off, and where we plan and relax.

Come with me, through the garden gate and have a look.

Digital image

Digital image
Seedlings of chard, carrots, swedes, beetroot and marigolds

Sometimes, I think the birds fancy this as their supermarket.  Alan caught a couple of sparrows tucking into the greens. Glad to see they’re sticking to a healthy diet.

Digital image
In the urn are miniature sunflowers. They should look a picture in a few weeks.

Digital image

Lush lettuce. That'll do for tea tomorrow, with new potatoes and some sardines.
Lush lettuce. That’ll do for tea tomorrow, with new potatoes and some sardines.

Before my interview, I went into the greenhouse to practice on the lettuce and tomatoes. I said, hello, I’m Susan Jones, pleased to meet you. They just quivered a bit and nodded.

Digital image
This old shed was going to be knocked down about five years ago. Then a robin built a nest in there. Now we call it head office. There’s a table, chair, mirror. Good place to write, during the summer.

photo (3)photo (2)You never know who you’re going

to meet in the garden. Time for a chat.

Digital imageDigital imageThese are in the pub garden,

 and I do know you should have the sun the other

way round, just that we were sitting that way.

IMG-20130702-WA000 (2)

My special people

Oh and I forgot to mention, I passed my computer exam

ECDL Extra. The equivalent to ITQ Stage 2 (with knobs on) and …. I got 95% … I told my

tutor, that’s going to be my catchphrase for life now. Just like Mma Makutsi in the number 1 ladies detective

agency. The one who the gay hairdresser next door calls 97%, because that’s what she got from

secretarial college. Well, I’m 95% from now on………

Now it’s time to relax, the garden’s watered, tennis is still on, good luck to Murray, and I’m off to

read my latest book. See, you didn’t miss Carol and Monty at all did you. They’d

better look out I’d say.

Digital imageMake sure you tune in to the giggle blog next week. Also, beach reads book, ‘came as me

left as we’ is published by Alfie dog, with my story ‘Pier into the Future’ in there, along

with lots of other great stories. Make sure you order your copy.

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

16 thoughts on “Gardener’s World.”

  1. This blog isn’t 95%. It’s got to be full marks for such gorgeous pictures. I’d love to sit in your garden. Was wondering what happened to your giggle blog. Got to do one myself.
    And many congratulations on that job. Great news.

    1. Hi Lynne, giggle blog is ready to go, but the job news and my 95% is priority, and the garden. Glad you’ve got a giggle in mind as well. How are your eyes. Must be alright or you wouldn’t be reading this. Good giggle coming soon.

  2. Lovely photos. Isn’t gardening a funny game? My tomatoes started with such promise, but they seem to have given up the ghost. Definitely shan’t be making vats of soup for the freezer this year. Gooseberries, on the other hand, seem to be making a bid for world domination.

  3. Well done on the job. You must be so excited! Your garden is looking lovely. I watched both the semi finals and felt quite exhausted by the end! Ladies’ final today. How can they play in this heat? And it looks to be even hottere tomorrow for the men’s. Oh, what will I do when Wimbledon is over? Tend my garden, I guess, now you have inspired me to make it as neat as yours!

    1. Hi Joanne, glad you’ve been inspired. It’s too hot for me just yet, evening time is bet for gardening isn’t it? Looking forward to the tennis as well. I am excited about the job. It’s right up my street, will let you know in my next post.

  4. Congrats on the job! And not just any old job but one you actually wanted, so I’m guessing it was worth the wait and all the form filling. Hope you still find plenty of time for that lovely garden of yours, and your writing of course.

  5. Hi Tracy, phew, it’s lovely isn’t it. I need a hat on, the sun sends me funny. I’m starting the mid July. Thought it was Monday, but in a couple of weeks. Thanks for the luck. Enjoy your garden writing. Lots of competitions I want to enter as well.

  6. Double congratulations on the new job and the exam pass 🙂 And your gorgeous garden – I think I’ll put on my sun hat and nip round 🙂 x

    1. Whew, Teresa, your lovely reply was in the spam file all this time. I wasn’t ignoring you, and it’s lovely to hear from you. There’s tea and cakes ready for you in the garden anytime.xx

Leave a Reply

