June Giggle blog.

It’s a new month, that means it’s time for the giggle of the month. What’s been making me giggle lately?

I have a couple of giggles; the main one comes from daughter Ann. I’m sure she won’t mind me sharing, as it is very funny. Another smaller giggle came on Thursday. I went for a job interview. No, that’s not the giggle, it was in fact serious as it’s a job I wanted, in a small respectable opticians. One that’s been established since the 1920’s, though the man who’s there now bought the firm from the previous owner and kept the name. I go to that same optician in a town nearer to home, this one was in a town further on. All seemed to be going well, I’d bought new skirt, jacket, three blouses as I didn’t know which one to get in the changing rooms; you know when you’ve tried on about twenty things and they all look wrong, then I found the perfect combination, so all good. New sandals as well. My Son had said, ‘make sure you get a suit, don’t go in your gardening clobber whatever you do’ (as if I would). All went well, and … would you believe, a hundred and thirty people applied for the job as receptionist in this opticians. They whittled it down to ten who had an interview – me being one of the ten. I was convinced it was me who’d got the job. I knew which bus I was going on, they even told me they’d let me have the keys to open up early!!! As I was leaving, I said, ‘bye then, nice to meet you.’ adding ‘oh but I’ve met you before haven’t I?’ Had a bit of  cringe there, but then again, he’d tested my eyes a month ago. Ann said. ‘oh Mum, that was a bit of a Miranda moment wasn’t it?’ I went out of the door thinking ‘why did I say that?’ Still, to get to the interview stage from hundred and thirty gives me confidence to go through the whole thing again. I didn’t get the job, but he said all nice things, so I’ll still go there to have my eyes tested.

Now for the main giggle… Ann’s moved into her own flat. A bed sit. She’s shared with pals and work colleagues, or lived with us for a long time, and been traveling on cruise ships for three years, so to have her own place is exciting. She told me when she came for a weekend last month. ‘I’ve ordered some cushions Mum. Do you think eighteen’s a bit much?’ I didn’t want to spoil her fun, but had to admit, it was overdoing it a bit.

‘But I loved them all’ she told me. There were aqua blue, pink, beige, ones with butterflies. I had to agree, they did sound nice. She rang me the other day to say she’d gone for these cushions, and the lady in the shop said. ‘I’d have a taxi love if I was you, that’s a lot of cushions to carry home. So she hailed a taxi, opened the door, threw the black bags full of cushions into the taxi, slammed the door and the taxi drove off … She was so shocked to see her beautiful new cushions going away that she ran after the taxi. Realising she wouldn’t catch it, she stopped, then noticed the taxi stop at traffic lights, so she ran again, and the taxi went through the lights. A taxi man who had seen all this, trying his hardest not to laugh, said.

‘Never mind, I’ll radio ahead.’ All Ann was worried about was her cushions. She’d discussed them and nothing else all month. In no time at all, the taxi did a u turn and was back. It was a lady driver. She said. ‘I thought you were ignoring me, then I turned round and all that was there was a pile of cushions… She hadn’t realised that Ann hadn’t had time to get in with her cushions. Last time Ann phoned, she’d been shopping for things for the flat. Yes, a few more cushions. You can never have enough can you?

Hope those make you smile, they did me.

Enjoy the month of June, and let me know if you have any good giggles.Digital image

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

18 thoughts on “June Giggle blog.”

  1. Wonderful! And no, I don’t think eighteen is too many cushions; I don’t think there’s any such thing as ‘too many cushions’! Thank you for the badly needed giggle.

    1. Thanks Sally, I was disappointed for a while, but how fortunate to be in the ten who were selected for interview. It helps being a writer, as I’m often on shortlists. Something will come along. Always something funny in every situation isn’t there:))

  2. That was very close, Susan – next time I’m sure you’ll get it. My husband would despair if I bought that many cushions – along with most men, I think he would be happy if cushions were banned. I love the vision of the taxi driver talking to herself!

  3. It’s hilarious isn’t it Wendy … When she told me I thought she meant the driver stole them on purpose .. Glad it was a mistake. She must have taken so long putting all of those cushions in the taxi that the lady thought she was in…

    1. Hi Julia. Do you know, when I told Mum and Dad about my job interview experience, after being proud that I was in the chosen 10, Mum said, you’ll write a story about it won’t you??? Of course I will. Thanks for popping by.

  4. I loved this post – certainly made me smile 🙂 Sorry you didn’t get the job, but it’s heartening to know you came so close. I love the tale of the cushions and yes, your Mum is right, you must get some stories out of this 🙂 x

  5. Hi, Susan. Sorry you didn’t get that job. I just went through the job hunt thing, and it can be frustrating. But the right one will appear and be yours! Even as I despaired it wouldn’t happen for me, it did!

    And the cushion story is hilarious – although I am sure your daughter didn’t think so when her beloved (even at such an early stage in her relationship with them) went speeding off!

    Well, all’s well that ends well. Blessings, Diane XO

    1. Thanks for that Diane, I’m sure you’re right. I know, they were like her new best friends, and off they went into the horizon. Off to finish your book now.xx

  6. Bad news about the job, but making the top ten out of 130 was an achievement in itself. Wishing you better luck next time! (Although if you get all these giggles written up and published you might not need another job :))

  7. That’s true Linda, I’d love to be able to make a living from my writing. That would be ideal. Especially this time of the year when I could be writing in the garden. Thanks for popping by and for your good luck wishes.

  8. You got through to the interview stage so yay for you!!!! And yes, I so agree with Ann – you can never have too many cushions! Glad she get the ones in the taxi eventually! Take care
    x

    1. Hi Kitty, yes I should be proud to have gone to an interview. Perhaps there’s a better job around the corner for me. Ann loves her cushions, so funny that they went for a ride on their own:))) Glad you popped by. x

  9. Eighteen cushions! That made me smile. Although I’m a bit guilty of buying far too many myself, so should keep my mouth shut really. Congrats on getting to the interview with the job! X

Leave a Reply

