The Glory of the Garden.

The Glory of the Garden

Our England is a garden that is full of stately views,

Of borders, beds and shrubberies and lawns and avenues,

With statues on the terraces and peacocks strutting by;

But the Glory of the Garden lies in more than meets the eye.

Rudyard Kipling.

To read the rest of the poem visit my website.

Digital imageDigital imageDigital imagephoto_9864_20091114[1]Digital imageDigital image

Remember back in February when daughter Ann planted tomatoes and broccoli? This pot behind buddah is the broccoli, the tomatoes are in the black pots. Aren’t they doing well? The plants in the black box over on the bottom right are chard. You can eat them as salad leaves or stir fry them; versatile and grow quick as well.

I found the poem when I came in from the garden and sat down with a cup of tea to read the Collected poems of Rudyard Kipling. A library book, hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

10 thoughts on “The Glory of the Garden.”

    1. Hi Rosemary, it’s lovely isn’t it? I don’t know many of Rudyard Kipling’s poems, I think he wrote Jungle Book as well didn’t he? I thought it was appropriate as I’d been on my knees getting weeds out of the cracks in the paving stones. Each member of the family does things in the garden, though they’re different things. Glad you liked it, thanks for popping by.

  1. Love the poem – it reminds me of my grandad who started his working life as a gardener at a big house. There’s always something that needs doing in the garden especially at this time of year. Yours is looking good!

  2. Glad the poem put you in mind of your Grandad Linda. I remember an old man who gardened for an old lady over the road who lived in a big house. He was always there, even if only reading his paper in the shed when it rained. Glad you reminded me of him by reminding you of your Grandad. I feel a story coming on now.

  3. Oh I wish I had peacocks in the garden! LOL!! Oh wow your gorgeous tom and broccoli plans are thriving and I love the gorgeous soil too!!!

    Have a lovely Sunday and lets hope this weather warms up a little for the plants!! Take care
    x

  4. I love poetry and this poem by Kipling is wonderful. “The glory of the garden lies in more than meets the eye.” So true! I’ m planning to write a post on the analogies between gardening and creative writing…

Leave a Reply

