Questions on writing and life.

Thanks to blog friend Lynne for passing on these questions –  What me and Lynne have in common is that we both started with a letter in Woman’s Realm. Lynne’s was about two seagulls flying up the motorway; mine was about drying thistles to use in flower arranging from the garden. I have quite a bit of catching up to do, but I’m always writing and promoting, though I spend too much time promoting and not enough time writing. Sometimes I think I link from this to that and that to the other, I’m sending my readers round in circles. It’s all good though, so here we go…

Q. Where were you born and where do you live at the moment?

A. Born in hilly Staffordshire, where you will find Cannock Chase and there’s lots of horses grazing in the fields and sometimes on the roadsides. Our family lived in a bungalow built by my Grandad; an old Gypsy called Sam lived down the road in one of those bow topped caravans. I found it fascinating to see him cooking and washing up outdoors. Now I live in leafy Warwickshire; home of Shakespeare and George Eliot and Susan Jones.

Q. Have you always lived and worked in Britain or have you been based anywhere else?

A. I love England, there’s nowhere I’d rather be. We spent a year in West Africa when I was younger with Dad’s work in a gold mine. I moaned a lot asking Mom to send word back to England for ham and cheese cobs. I didn’t settle too well. I loved climbing fruit trees and hurling the guavas to the little children who were half-starved. They ran like ants to gobble them up. It taught me to be grateful for basics like food… On the way back we stayed at Las Palmas which seemed a sophisticated place back in the 60’s.

Q. Which is your favorite part of Britain?

A. I love Torbay, especially Brixham. It’s such an unassuming place and I love the multi-coloured houses and fresh fish.

Q. Does your favorite place feature in your writing?

A. I wrote a short story set there, a ghost one, but it hasn’t been published yet.

Q. Do you agree about the British stiff upper lip?

A. Absolutely; most definitely; oh gosh, tally ho – yes, what?

Q. Do any of your characters have the stiff upper lip?

A. I have such a lot of characters, but mine tend to be working class types. They usually wear a pinny, work in a factory or worry about money.

Q. Tell us about one of your recent books.

A. I have a short story in an e.book. It’s on Amazon ‘Growing up in the 70’s’  There are four stories in the book. My story is called ‘High School Blues.’ A work of fiction about three girls who’re not sure what they’re doing, except playing around and listening to music.

Q. What are you currently working on?

A. A romantic story ‘Hats off to Love.’ This came on the shortlist of the Romantic Novelist’s New Talent Award for 2012.  I panicked a bit and because I couldn’t make the award ceremony, I began wondering who could collect my award if I won!!! You have to be positive don’t you? No need to panic, I didn’t win, but it’s given me the confidence to complete it. It’s at around 30,000 words now, needs lots of editing, but I’m having fun with it.

Q. How do you spend your leisure time?

A. Gym, swimming, gardening, knitting, walking, talking, laughing, eating sweets, selling, oh…..writing…

Q. Do you write for a local audience or a global one?

A. Anybody who’s interested in reading.

Q. Can you provide links to your work.

A. Yes, of course I can. Here’s the e.book with my story in.

Here’s my author page on Amazon. My story is in each of these books of short stories.

I have four stories on Alfie dog.

Entering competitions is also a hobby of mine. Thanks Lynne for nominating me, now I’ll put a couple of names of people who’s writing I like. I do realize that Lynne nominated Teresa, but she’s such a great story writer.

Teresa Ashby.

Patsy Collins.

Amanda Brittany.

Digital imageBuddha says tickle my tummy and you’ll get rich…

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

17 thoughts on “Questions on writing and life.”

  1. Hi Rosemary, lovely to hear from you. It’s going alright, I have to try hard not to keep repeating myself with the character dialogue though, that’s the tricky bit. Then again, we do repeat ourselves in real life don’t we? In our family we do anyway. Thanks for popping by.

  2. Your year in West Africa, as a child, must certainly have been an eye opener – have you ever set a story there? I went to Warwick and Stratford last year for the first time – it was lovely.

    1. Hi Wendy, I have written a story, and thanks for the idea. I should work on more. I think it was quite traumatic for me at the time so I blanked a lot out, but there are many interesting bits and bobs to bring into my writing now. Thanks again for the tip. My dad produced several stories that I produced into a book, they were funny and moving. He loved it all.

    1. That’s a lovely thought Lynne, I think me and you would be two gigglers together. Your books are full of fun, I have two of yours now. I’m thinking of ghostwriting for somebody, haven’t decided who yet. We used to have a town cryer, but he got sent to prison, then he died, so he’s out. I’d like to research more on Larry Grayson, he was a Warwickshire lad, funny as well. Perhaps he’ll ghost himself onto the keyboard. Keep on writing. Looking forward to the next one.

    1. Hello Karen, it’s quite historical and gritty with characters and atmosphere isn’t it? I had visions of them calling out, ‘where’s Susan Jones, then silence and everyone saying ‘oh well you’d have thought she’d have been here……’ What a big head!! I was quite amazed to be on the shortlist actually…

  3. What lovely answers, Sue! Gypsy Sam sounds so interesting and your year in West Africa was amazing what with your dad working in a gold mine (did he bring his work home – bet you’ve not heard that one a million times by now?)! Thank you for passing it on to me and for your kind words 🙂 x

  4. Hi Teresa, truthful words; you kept me entertained when I lived in North Wales and had my little ones with your stories, and I was banging away at my typewriter trying to produce similar. I used to aim to write like you… and I always thought, I bet she’s someone I’d be friends with. It’s lovely to know you more from your blog. As for the gold, would you believe, in the dust and rubble in the gutters, you could always find bits of gold, yet the children were starving and always begging with hands held out for pennies.

  5. Hi Tracy, thanks for the luck, think I need it. The author page is easy, you visit author central; I had to email them though and ask special permission to include those two books as they’re short story books with my work in there. It would have been easier if I had my own books. At least it’s a start though.

Leave a Reply

