Giggle blog.

At the start of every month, I’ll be doing a giggle blog. I’m sure we all love a bit of a giggle, as long as nobody’s being made a fool of, that wouldn’t be nice. The thing that made me giggle yesterday was this.

A lady came and did a bit of shopping, as you may know, the shop is having to close at the end of this month, due to re-developments. Only thing is, the three shops at one end of the building are being re-built, but ours and the doggie parlour next door aren’t. No good crying about it, we’ve got to get on and face the music. Trouble is, our lovely customers are not happy. One by one, they keep asking ‘what will you do?’ Now it’s come to ‘What will we do?’ But, back to the lady who made me and Alan giggle.

I’d just come from the back where I was making tea, this happens quite often, we drink tea all day long. I could see Alan’s face looking utterly shocked and his eyes were the size of saucers and he was trying hard not to laugh or something… Then I heard. ‘Thank you for the offer.’ He walked away quickly. What was she offering I wondered. After all, we’ve had meat pies, game pies, suet puds, books, jackets, phone chargers, jumpers, newspapers. The list is as long as you’ve got time to sit around reading. She then turned to me and said.

“As I was just saying to your husband. If you’ve got anything left when you finish, you can come and put a table in my garden and set up there. There’s plenty of room, the kids used to do it. You’re more than welcome.

Goodness me, I do realise she was being overly kind, but could you imagine two fifty odd year olds with a table of nick-nacks on the village green. We have to be flattered of course. Notice we’re two fifty odd and not two odd fifty year olds…

So, thank goodness someone else came up and I got distracted so I just ignored the offer. Perhaps she’d had a drink, a lot do in the afternoons. Especially the old ladies. They are quite cute though.  So that’s my giggle blog. What’s yours?

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

17 thoughts on “Giggle blog.”

  1. Perhaps she thought you’d be willing to pay her some rent …?
    At least it gave you a giggle – and perhaps some more material for your writing.

  2. Yes I think she did Linda, also, she’s been buying a lot of florist items, and plans to make up arrangements. I have a feeling if, (on the mad and never to be chance) we had a table outside her house, she’d produce her home made arrangements for selling. Nothing surprises me anymore, and as you say, great for story ideas!!!

  3. That sort of lovely customer more than makes up for some of the horrible ones. I know about them having had a cycle shop at one time in my life. I’m going to blog about my giggle moment.

  4. Yes it is nice to hear so many people saying they wish us well Paula. I’d like to write full time of course, but in the meantime, we’ll see what happens. Thanks for popping by.

  5. Yay! You did it, Susan! 🙂
    I love your kind and gentle giggle ~ you are such an integral part of the neighbourhood that your customers will do anything to make you stay! But times move on, we change and fresh challenges are beckoning you and your hubby. I wish you well and look forward to hearing about the next stage in your life. Still thinking of a suitable giggle post to send that ripple on it’s way! 🙂

    1. Giggle on Jacqueline, every day those lovely people come up with an idea for us to stay, but times change and I will be able to write more. That’s the plan anyway. I’m sure I’ll be blogging about it anyway. Today, a man came in and asked hubby if he could jump start his car!! Another lady needed her shopping delivered. We’re more like a social shop that a retail shop.

      1. No wonder they all want you to stay, Sue ~ your anecdotes would make a brilliant book or series and now you’ll have the time to write it!! 😉

  6. Giggle I did! ‘we’re two fifty odd and not two odd fifty year olds…’

    So sorry about your shop – sounds like you’ll have much to write about it for a long time, though. Best wishes for what comes next!

Leave a Reply

