Another review.

cover artDigital image

Another review, but they seem to get ruder, oh well, if someone doesn’t know that I is always written in capital, how can you take them seriously? That’s only me having a rant. That’s what I like about a blog. We can put within reason what we like, and nobody is going to say, ‘not suitable, or wouldn’t hold the readers interest.’ Maybe it’s just me, to quote Miranda. Our daughter is reading her autobiography and I love to see her giggling out loud on every page, and she says. ‘Oh she’s just like me’ Well, maybe it’s just me, but I thought the stories were funny. Everyone’s idea of funny is different, that’s the thing.

The daffodils were from last year. We’re selling lots of things from the shop now, and everyone is asking things like, ‘what will you do? Where will you go? Thing is, we don’t know ourselves yet, but they look at us like we’re crazy when we tell them that. No point in worrying though. Something will turn up.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Growing-Funny-Short-Stories-ebook/dp/B0094VGWSU

Whoopee, I’ve just seen that Miranda has had a crappy review as well. So it’s not just me. Glad about that.
We have a thing called the Ball Game on Pancake Day in our town. It’s crazy. The shop windows get boarded up, and a game of footie goes on from one end of the town to the other. Mostly it’s teams from the pubs who kick it up and down, then the one who has it at the end wins money and the kudos of ‘having the ball.’ Our shop is on the estate, so it doesn’t affect us. It hasn’t been known to go there yet.
http://www.coventrytelegraph.net/news/coventry-news/2012/02/22/atherstone-ball-game-2012-bloody-bruising-but-fun-92746-30380903/

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

6 thoughts on “Another review.”

  1. You can’t please everyone! There are some authors I cant bear and some I love, while others love the ones I hate and can’t stand the ones I love. And writers need to have thick skins – the important thing is to keep writing.

  2. Susan, what matters is your own opinion of your book and if you are happy with it, I have no doubt that there are going to be many happy readers….you are a talented lady and have a fabulous way with words.

    I think what is hard is that people are more likely to leave feedback that is negative than that is positive, which is why I now make a conscious effort to leave praise on sites like TripAdvisor (i.e. if I have enjoyed an attraction).

    Keep your chin up, Susan, and congratulations on your book 🙂

  3. Thanks Nicola, great to hear from you. I enjoy the writing and that’s what matters most. As I put, when someone writes I as i, then I doubt they even read past the introduction. Thanks for your lovely words. xx

  4. If everybody believed every bad review there would be no actors, singers, restaurant owners or films. I’m sure there are a great number of people who have very much enjoyed reading your book, Susan.

  5. Hi Wendy, thanks for your kind words. I’m proud of my story Wendy and as you say, sometimes people would rather say something negative than good. I only have one story in there along with the other three. The editor worked hard though, reading through over 80 stories to pick the four he liked. I wonder if these people have ever written a story themselves? Thanks for popping by.

Leave a Reply

