Millionaire’s shortbread

Pile it high and give it a try.
Pile it high and give it a try.

I wondered why it was called that until I tried it. It’s the richest thing I’ve ever eaten all in one go. There’s the shortbread base, which is one of my favourite, then a caramel toffee filling with nuts and raisins, also my favourite, topped with white chocolate, my absolute fave, so all in the one bite it’s something short of heaven. You only need one piece though, two at the most. I had the recipe from People’s Friend Christmas issue.  I’ve lost that, but here’s the gist of it.

Line a tray 10″ by 7″

Make a basic shortbread.  8oz pl flour, 4oz butter, 3oz sugar.  Mix togother until like breadbrums, then spread with a wooden spoon into the tin.  Bake in a med oven for 20 mins.

Let that cool, and make the filling.

Half a 200g can of condensed milk.

2 tablespoons golden syrup.

40z butter

2 tablespoons brown sugar.  Stir that up with a wooden spoon until thick and toffee-like.  Spread the caramel mixture onto the shortbread, then sprinkle with chopped nuts and sultanas or raisins, whichever you prefer.  I put sultanas.  Let that cool well.

Finally, melt white chocolate and spread onto the set caramel.  Leave to set again.  Some recipes use milk chocolate and swirl the white chocolate.  Here’s an example of that.

Here it is.

Top tips.  Use proper butter rather than margerine for a delectable taste.  Also this freezes well.  That way you don’t have to eat the whole lot straight away.

Makes a great romantic treat for your loved one for Valentine’s Day.  Or any day.

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

16 thoughts on “Millionaire’s shortbread”

  1. So wicked! I still have my xmas issue PF and note that butter is recorded as an ingredient in the filling. However, if you’ve made it successfully without butter in the filling, then it should be marginally less calorific. Maybe another piece would be allowed? 🙂

  2. Four ounces of butter to half a 200g can of sweetened condensed milk, plus two tbs golden syrup and two ounces caster sugar (I see you used brown sugar and I prefer that too) for the filling. Good idea to have this as a Valentine’s Day treat. I need time to recover from xmas chocs etc!

Leave a Reply

