New years day in the Garden.

Digital image
Rosetta lettuce planted at the end of September. They would be alright to eat now, but I want them to grow a bit bigger. Click on the picture to see where to get seeds.
Digital image
Silver cineraria. These leaves brighten the winter border and have yellow flowers during the summer months. Click on the picture for more information.
Digital image
Mixed colours of hyacinth that will flower in the spring and smell heavenly.
Digital image
What did you do in the garden today dear? Oh I did a bit of tidying up you know, planted some bulbs and watered the lettuce.
Digital image
Yellow primulas are a welcome sight on the first day of the new year.

It was a lovely sunny day here in Warwickshire, ideal for planting some bulbs. The pack said to plant by end of December, so they’ll make a splash of colour in mid to late spring. I love to grow lettuce in the winter months, the variety rosetta gives shiny leaves and tastes quite sweet. The shop ones taste like a limp lettuce don’t they? Primroses always look cheery as well.

I heard from Debz at cafe lit that my story ‘Weekend at Badger’s Lodge has been added to the list of stories on the site.  You can read it on the link below.
http://www.cafelit.co.uk/WeekendatBadgersLodge.html
http://cafelitcreativecafe.blogspot.co.uk/2013/01/weekend-at-badgers-lodge.html

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

12 thoughts on “New years day in the Garden.”

  1. Hi Susan, just read your story: Weekend @ Badger’s Lodge… Loved it! Just wondered if you got your idea from something you had tried yourself with a box of chocolates LoL 🙂

  2. Lovely post, Susan ~ I love the message that life continues to thrive, even when we pay it little attention. It almost inspired me to get out into m own garden ~ but the weather has closed in again to day and it has become much colder, so I think I’ll stay snuggled indoors a little longer! Will read your story when I have time to savour and enjoy it! 🙂

  3. The lettuce look delicious, I always tell myself I’m going to grow lettuce in the greenhouse over winter but never do, probably because I don’t like eating lettuce and while I grow it outdoors in the summer I grow it just to give away!
    Now for the cheeky bit. Congrats on the story Weekend at Badgers Lodge, but i think it could do with editing. I know how difficult it is to get dialogue perfect so who am i to expect perfection? To answer my own question, I don’t. However in one or two places in the story I felt confused, as did a colleague, and had to go back and read again. Not the only problems by the way but the idea was veery good.
    I understand that you were not looking for crit. and i apologise; iI couldn’t resist the temptation especially as the story a good one.
    Congrats and apologies again!

    1. Hi Tom, glad you liked the story, and the lettuce. Any excuse to read the story again eh? I don’t mind you saying what you think, as long as you don’t mind me telling you that when you write i, it should always be I, that’s because you are important and need a capital letter for I. Thanks for popping by.

  4. I love looking round other people’s gardens, thanks for the tour! I like your ‘gardeners’ – they’re obviously doing a good job! Congrats on the story.

Leave a Reply

