Last issue of the Dandy

Today was the last date that Dandy comic is published.  I’ve been listening to the radio while making up the holly wreaths and crosses, it’ll still be available to download and view on the internet, but that’s not quite the same as a paper comic is it?

http://www.channel4.com/news/dandy-desperate-dan-internet-dc-thompson  Tells you about it here.

Now is a good time to enter competitions as everyone is busy getting things ready for Christmas.  Especially themed ones.  The shortlist is now available for the twins competition if anyone entered http://erewashwriterscompetition.weebly.com/results–update-301112.html  I did, but my story was too bizarre for words, so no surprise that my name’s not on the list.

Is yours there?

There looks some great new competitions to think about for the New Year as well.

http://erewashwriterscompetition.weebly.com/2013-themed-short-story-competition—helen-baggott.html  With the added bonus it’s free to enter.

 

 

 

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

15 thoughts on “Last issue of the Dandy”

  1. There is a story listed with the same title as the one I entered. Not sure if it’s mine or not … I’m annoyed about the Christmas one as I wrote something for it and left it too late to enter. Hate it when I do that!

  2. Of course it’s yours Patsy, fingers crossed with red nail varnish for you. I was going to enter one as well for the Christmas one and let it go past the date. Plenty of time for the new ones though. Good luck…

  3. How sad something else that has come to the end. There was a child on the TV who said the comic was ‘Cheesy’ My, my the grown up enjoy comics, but comics are to childish for children. 🙂

  4. I remember the excitement of going to the newsagent to get a comic, and seeing if the latest issue of your favourite one was out, and maybe it had a free gift stuck on the front! I still feel a bit excited like that about displays of magazines actually if they have a free gift on them! There are still plenty of magazines and comics on the shelves but it makes me sad to think that in a few years it may be all electronic. It’s not the same at all.

  5. I loved the Dandy – and the Beano, and all the others! And when my own children started reading them, I have to admit I couldn’t resist having a sneaky look. I remember there was quite a lot of debate about comics at one time with some people saying they were not ‘suitable’ reading material for children, but I’m sure they encouraged a lot of reluctant readers.

  6. I think it was the humour and characters that I loved best Linda. My Diana was one I liked as well. Made me feel quite grown up as it was my first ‘girls’ comic. Up until then I’d enjoyed the boys ones.

Leave a Reply

