Free e.book.

Free to download from Amazon Escape to the Country by Patsy Collins.  I have the real book on my bookshelf and signed by Patsy too, which I prefer, but this is too good an offer to miss.  Also, well done to blog friends who’ve had stories accepted by Jill at Weekly News.  Mine wasn’t, but I can maybe send it somewhere else now.  Looking forward to reading those from Helen, Patsy, Teresa and other blog writers.

Being as it’s the pheasant season, they seem to dart out round by us as you’re driving along and aim for your side mirrors or front screen.  There’s more killed on the road I think than the hunters get to shoot.  Shame they only breed them to shoot them.  Especially as they don’t fly and can’t run fast either, hardly sport is it?  But if you fancy a little party game, Vanessa had a good one on her blog, try saying Irish wrist watch fast several times, that’s hard.  Now how about this one.  When we left home, working at a hotel over the Christmas period, me and my Sister along with the cook had to pluck pheasants!!! yes it was as disgusting as it sounds.  To break the boredom, we recited this poem lots and lots until we were too busy laughing to bother about plucking pheasants.

I’m not a pheasant plucker, I’m a pheasant plucker’s mate

and I’m only plucking pheasants coz the pheasant plucker’s late.  Now you have to say it faster and see how it goes…

 

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

6 thoughts on “Free e.book.”

  1. You’re not getting me on the pheasant plucking – I’ve done both the feather removing and tongue twisting enough times to know to avoid it in future!

    Thanks so much for mentioning the freebie book offer.

  2. Thanks for telling us about the free book, Sue, I’m looking forward to reding it. Sorry that your story hasn’t been accepted but you are so determined that I’m sure you will find a good home for it! We kept chickens when I was growing up in Wales and I can remember helping to pluck and pull them, ready for the freezer. Disgusting ~ it’s a wonder I didn’t turn vegetarian! Loving the new look too! 🙂

  3. I’m a veggie so I just enjoy looking at them not plucking or cooking them 🙂 Did you know they not native to this country, but came from China, and by the end of the 16th century there were common all over this country.

  4. Hi Paula, no I didn’t know that. I didn’t like the look of them to eat either, someone told me they’re a bit tough, and plucking them was about the worst job I’ve ever done. Thanks for popping by.

Leave a Reply

