Now available, September issue of The Great War.

Now available to buy, the September issue of The Great war can be found here.  I know I’ve been saying and saying and yes saying my article is in there, but now you can purchase it if you want to.  It’s a small press magazine, and you won’t be dissapointed if you paid the £6.00 that it costs.  The publishers used to run one on WW2 as well, but that one folded, seems there’s more interest in The Great War.  I also have an article in the January 2011 issue, Edith Cavell, Angel of East Anglia.  I’m proud of both these articles, I wanted to know more on Rupert Brooke myself, so writing the article was great fun, he was quite a funny man in an ironic kind of way.

In the Ocotber Writing magazine, I was thrilled to read your story Paula, the one that won the crime competition, and also Tracey Fells articles, and Julie’s article.  I showed our daughter, she follows my blog, and she does, and I know this lady.  She said, ‘Well why don’t you do an article for there then?’  I quickly flicked open the September one and showed her my letter in there.  Must work on some ideas though.  I love all those competitions that have great prizes.  I love the idea of being on a carousel Tracey, I’m with you on that…  It’s around now I start thinking up my slogan for the year ahead, still working on it, so that will be posted soon.  If I have a good slogan, I write better.  Sounds daft, but it works for me.  This years was ‘just write, right.’

We had a great family day today.  No work, no markets, a big fat lie in, until I won’t say until when as you might all unsubscribe to my blog and say ‘what a slob!!’ Then when we were up and dressed, in best clothes as it was raining, so no grass cutting or weeding, our two Sons arrived back from their weekend of Stag-do-ing with a mate.  That’s a treat, as we don’t see our eldest Son much as he lives in Torquay.  So he was chatting to his Sister, who was staying for the weekend from Melton Mowbray, and my Sister and her daughter arrived.  After about a minute, she said, ‘I’ve got some news’ she’s the one who got married earlier in the Summer, so it wasn’t a cryptic crossword to work out what she was going to say. She’s going to be a Mum.  So my Sister will be a Gran, her brothers will be Uncles, I’ll be a Great Aunt is it? Mom and Dad will be Great Grandad and Grandma…..  So now we’re all quiet and having a nice relax.

Growing up in the 70’s is now available on Amazon.  My story is ‘High School Blues’.  There aren’t any reviews yet, but the editor told me it’s in the top 100 of comedy e.books.  Not sure where you find that list, but I’ll find out soon.  The sunflowers have gone now, but I like the photo, the pink fairy lives on Blackpool pleasure beach with the doughnut man.

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

4 thoughts on “Now available, September issue of The Great War.”

  1. Thanks for the mention Susan 🙂
    Ooh do join me on the carousel, as it can get rather lonely just going up and down all day (sometimes feels like more downs than ups).
    I like the idea of having a writing slogan. Right now mine should be “Stop thinking and get writing”…

  2. Yes, I’m on the carousel with you Tracy, sorry I put the e in your name earlier. It seems for me that just when I’m about to give up and forget the idea of being a writer, I go and win a competition, or have something accepted. That’s the fun of it isn’t it? Speaking of which, I have a competition to enter, so must dash off. Mine’s a white horse with blue fancy paintwork. Reminds me of Mary Poppins….

  3. Congratulations on the publication!

    Like the idea of a writing slogan. I do start each year with particular writing targets in mind, but haven’t ever considered a slogan. Will try to think of one.

  4. Yes Patsy, it’s a good idea, I’ve been steadily having more work accepted with my slogan in mind. So busily thinking of a production enhancing one… Oh think I ate a dictionary for breakfast:))

Leave a Reply

