Bargain of the week.

Welcome to my new blog followers, and hello to ones who’ve been following me for ages.  I picked up the bargain of the month last Sunday from the market.  It was the complete works of Shakespeare. William Shakespeare: The Complete Works (Collector's Library Editions in Colour)

A hardback book, with pictures.  I asked how much it was, the man on the stall said,

“You can take it away for fifty pence!”  Can you imagine how quickly that book was under my arm and I’d paid up?  So I’ve begun with Two Gentlemen of Verona, I didn’t realise how funny the story is when you get past the whence and hence and forthwiths.  I love classical books, and it’s a romantic play.  Testing friendships and love.  When someone meets up with anyone, they say,

“How now?”  Makes sense doesn’t it?  Briefer than how we say, “How are you today?”  That can be a bit of a mistake when you have a small shop, twenty minutes later you will still be getting a list of things that are wrong with someone…. It can be easier to stick with “Hello.”

My leaving home story got to the final eleven, but the editor only needed four or five stories, so I missed out on that one.  Never mind, always somewhere else to send it.  Also, I have two more stories coming up soon on Alfie dog website.  Will give you more information on that later.  Have a great weekend, and enjoy the garden if you get chance to get in it.

8 thoughts on “Bargain of the week.

  1. Great find! I have a copy that was my mothers, but I must confess I have hardly opened it, except to check out the odd quote. (Studying English A level Literature at school must have put me off!) I can just imagine you greeting your customers with ‘How now?’ That’d flummox them and maybe you wouldn’t get such a litany of complaints! Sorry to hear about the story ~ but you have it under your belt, to send out again. I’m in awe of your energy, Susan ~ I’ve definitely slipped into lazy mode this summer. Still, new season, fresh start ~ although it looks more like Winter than Autumn out there this morning! Have a great Sunday, whatever the weather up there! 🙂

    • Hi Jacqueline, I love creating stories, and my daily diary of snippets always gives me characters. Real life can be more interesting than stories sometimes can’t it? That would indeed be quite funny if I said ‘How now?’ They’d probably still say ‘Well, look at this scar…….etc’ It’s good to be a listener though, especially when you write. The funniest thing is when Alan pops into the conversatin. ‘Sue writes you know.’ They tend to go quiet after that. Have a good Sunday yourself.xx

  2. Bad luck on the Leaving Home story but well done for getting as far as you did.
    Enjoy your Shakespeare. It’s very satisfying when you pick up a bargain like that, isn’t it. I love th idea of greeting people with ‘How Now?’ 🙂

  3. Me too Gail, I love old fashioned speak. A lot of people round where we live just say to each other ‘Ey up’ and nod. or ‘a go’ which is similar to how go, then we live in Warwickshire. Loved your story in Writing magazine…that was funny.xx

Leave a comment