Visiting Mom and lemon drizzle cake.

Mom is getting better slowly, still in hospital, and doing the excercises they’re helping her with like walking steadily up the corridor.  Today they’re trying stairs.  She was alright up, but not confident with the down.  Dad whispered to her, well, I’m sure at home you’ll sit on your bottom and shuffle down.  The nurses are fab with her though, and she says the food is tasty.  Our daughter Ann, came with me today.  She was thrilled to see her eldest Grandaughter.  I might have mentioned Ann cooks great cakes.  Here’s a lemon drizzle.

Of course it didn’t last long.

Anyone want a slice?  What a silly question, of course you do.

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

19 thoughts on “Visiting Mom and lemon drizzle cake.”

  1. Glad to hear your mum is up and about. Research has been carried that seems to suggest that yoga can help stroke victims recover by improving their balance.

  2. That’s good news, sounds as if your mum is doing well and isn’t your dad lovely – bottom shuffling down the stairs, very sensible if she’s not so confident coming down 🙂

    And that cake does look rather delicious – were you offering a slice? Don’t mind if I do 🙂 x

  3. Help yourself to cake Teresa, it looks great doesn’t it, she made it in Melton Mobray where she lives. I must tell her not to be frightened to do one in our kitchen next time she comes. Yes, Dad is quite practical. He told me today he’s going to master the washing machine. He’s preparing to be on hand full time to look after Mom. She’s got my sister living next door, and I’m round the corner, so she should be o.k. He’s been getting their garden tidied up for when she comes home.

  4. So pleased your mum is doing better, Teresa. Your dad sounds like a real support too 🙂 Any ideas how long until she will be home? Rehabilitation is such a slow process, but sounds like she is doing well with it.

    You are in my thoughts xx

  5. This post brought back memories of a lemon drizzle cake my grandmother always used to make when I was a child – while the cake was still hot out of the oven, she would make lots of holes in the top of it and drizzle the warm lemon syrup she had made over it so that it would seep into the holes and make the moistest cake you can imagine!

    I wish your ma a speedy recovery.

  6. Glad you mum is improving, Susan. I’m sure having such a loving family around will help her get her confidence back.

    The cake looks delicious and I’m hungry now.

    1. Thanks for popping by Pat. I do agree, her face is a picture when we arrive to visit. Then when I blow her a kiss as I leave, her face tells me a million times ‘I love you’ I walk away with tears streaming down my face, but I don’t let her see.xx

  7. Yum! So this is timely!

    Hi Susan,

    I have nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award.Thank you for being a bright and beautiful inspiration.
    The RULES for this award are as follows:
    Thank the person nominating your for the award and link back to them
    List ten things about yourself: Here is the link to my previous acceptance.http://julietgreenwoodauthor.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/a-lovely-award-for-my-blog/
    Nominate SIX blogs you think deserve the Kreativ Blogger Award.

    xxxxx

Leave a Reply

