Latest acceptance.

I heard this morning from Editor Mark Marsay that my article will appear in the September issue of The Great War magazine.  It’s called,

The Gentle Poet, The Life and Death of Rupert Brooke.  Remember the poem I blogged for rememberence Sunday ‘If I should die think only this of me?’  That’s him.  As soon as it’s published, I’ll put the link in where you can buy it if you’re interested.

This picture is in the garden of a house in North Wales where he and other poets of the day went for a Summer School.  My husband happened to know that he passed this on his way home from work.  They kindly let me take a picture, or rather, I took the picture, then contacted them and they kindly said it was o.k.  I did knock on the door, though not very loud as it was a Sunday.

By way of a thank you I’ll be sending them a copy.

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

22 thoughts on “Latest acceptance.”

    1. Thanks Patsy, I’m so proud of this article, it’s one I put a lot of effort into. It was more interesting than I could have known. And the village where this house is, is the one where I met my husband when I was 18 and he was 24.

  1. Brilliant news, Susan! I Love the personal detail you’ve included – I can just picture you tapping lightly on the door, so as not to disturb the current residents LOL! 🙂

  2. Well Done Suzy and what a wonderful subject to write about. I love that poem and he was such a handsome man…. I’m sure your husband is as handsome as Rupert Brooke…

    best wishes,

  3. Well done Susan – I’d love to read this. Tidied up my bookshelves over the w/e and rediscovered my collection of Rupert Brooke’s poetry books – I was obsessed with him in my late teens – my favourite poem was Dust (very mournful).

  4. Hi Tracy. His poetry is lovely isn’t it. Dust must have been one of his earlier ones then, he started off melancholy and then came the ironic humour. Will let you know when the issue comes available.

  5. Very well done Susan! I have an old book about Rupert Brooke, it’s like dipping into a lost world, which, in effect, is what it is.

    1. Hi David,
      Thanks for popping by. He was a born poet wasn’t he? I loved learning all about him, and writing the article. His poetry is classic and wonderful. (Bit like yours eh?) Loved that one with the black and white photo…

  6. Fantastic news! Congratulations and do let us know when the article appears.
    I don’t know anything about Rupert Brooke and his work, really – except ‘The Old Vicarage’. I’ve always loved that one.
    xxPat

Leave a Reply

