Flowers for Mother’s Day.

Flowers for Mother’s Day.  Hope all Mothers are relaxing in the way they like best.  If you want to follow Patsy on her blog tour, she’s over at Teresa’s today.  Now that’s a real treat for me as Patsy and Teresa are my two favourite story writers.  They have that skill that I think goes unrecognised.  It’s the skill of writing a story, making it seem so easy that you think ‘I can do that’, but, boy is it hard?  They have the knack.  I’m sure they would agree that the only way to get better at writing is to keep on doing just that.  My slogan for this year is ‘Just write, right!’  So here I am writing.

The birds are happily twittering away in the garden this afternoon.  It’s been raining, so they’re so chirpy it’s smashing to hear.  I have some fat balls to put in a holder for them.  Also, some sunflower seeds to plant in the greenhouse, along with sweet-peas and cornflowers.  Here are last years to remind me how lovely they are, and why I grow them.

Welcome to my new blog followers.  Hope to catch up with you all soon.  Thanks for following.  I’m now going to try a piece of the lemon meringue pie I made earlier.  The middle bit was a touch on the runny side, but it’s been in the fridge, so should be alright now.  It’s Mum’s favourite, so I made one especially for her, which I’m going to deliver soon, as she only lives round the corner.  Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

18 thoughts on “Flowers for Mother’s Day.”

  1. Hi SusanJane – hope you had a wonderful visit with your mother and enjoyed your lemon meringue pie – sounds good to me .. wish I was there! I’ve got a good cup of tea – just the thing .. the birds are keeping me company – I can’t believe how much birdsong there is .. and we’ve had a brief shower late this pm .. beautiful sunny morning though ..

    Have a great week – Cheers Hilary

    1. Thanks Hilary, pie was scrummy, tangy and sweet, just how I like it. The bottom was a touch more soggy than I like, but it wasn’t half bad and Mum was surprised, and Dad. Have a great week yourself.

  2. Thank you Juliet. The pie was present number 2. She had the Cafe Lit book of short stories with my Earl Grey story and ferrero rochers and seeds. I think the pie was top of the list though.

  3. You’re right, Susan, the only way to learn to write effortlessly is to keep writing – it is hard work – although others believe that it’s easy. Good luck with your resolution – I enjoy reading your posts and learning more about you. Haven’t made lemon meringue pie for ages – Mmmm! 🙂

      1. Definitely, Susan! I love that phrase, ‘kindred spirits’ – it conjures up feelings of ease and familiarity, warm kitchens and lemon meringue pie! (I’m going to have to make myself one – shop bought ones just aren’t the same!)

  4. What a lovely thing to say, thank you 🙂 I love your slogan!
    How lovely that you made your mum a lemon meringue pie! I often used to make an extra for my mum too and how she used to love it x

  5. Flowers and lemon meringue pie, sounds like a perfect Mother’s Day! My favourite Mother’s Day story is from a few years ago when my daughter was nine. She came running in from outside with muddy shoes and ran straight upstairs stomping mud everywhere. I started to complain about the work she had just created for me and she came down, gave me a big hug, and said “Aww, Mum, you shouldn’t have to do cleaning on Mother’s Day”, I smiled warmly, and then she added “You can do it tomorrow”.

    Gotta love ’em 😉

    1. That’s priceless Vanessa. You do have to love them. One of my sons forgot yesterday. I came hope today to the tea laid out ready, flowers and sweets. You do have to love them. It’s the best thing being a Mum.

  6. Thanks for popping in Teresa, I’ve been following your stories for years, and I always wondered what you were like, I knew you were lovely. Now I know for sure. It was great to surprise Mum with her favourite pudding. She said, “You’ve already given me my pressies.”

Leave a Reply

