Something Special for Spring.

Today I picked up the People’s Friend Spring Special.  Full of fabulous stories, knitting, puzzles, articles and all things I love in a magazine.  So far I’ve read Pat’s story – Daffodil Days.  It’s lovely, Pat,  you write a brilliant story.  The picture is lovely as well, colourful and goes well with your story.  Looking forward to reading more of those.

I realise when reading these why my stories aren’t being accepted YET. I’m having great fun doing the research though, I know what makes a good P.F. story.  In my research I will say that most stories begin with speech.  Often the characters are eating or drinking, and they favour first person narrative.  Also, there’s always a problem.  (Get me, I’m going on like a writing tutor)

Eg.  “What d’you think we should do about that old piano of Mum’s then Sadie?”  Carrie licked jam off her fingers from the large doughnut she finished in a gulp.

“Well, seeing as it needs tuning, and she doesn’t play it anymore, I’d say we could advertise it in the Gazette.”  Sadie stirred her tea, and shook her dark curls into place as she glanced round the coffee shop.

“She’d never agree to that.”  Carrie frowned.  Typical of her sister.  She hadn’t an ounce of feeling for the old piano, when it had been in the family for generations.  One of them had to have it, and it was looking obvious which one it was going to be……..

Now, as I haven’t had any stories accepted yet by P.F. I’m no expert, but on openings, I can say that we have to identify with one of the characters at least, and maybe see the point of the others as well.  The stories always have a gentle theme, and are family orientated.  So; what am I waiting for, I need to go and write about a piano…..

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

15 thoughts on “Something Special for Spring.”

  1. Susan, it certainly sounds like you have the perfect ‘recipe’ for getting in PF. I have no doubt you will be in there, so when you are please do let me know so that I can have a read. Most of my writing is non-fiction, but I have a yearning (if that is the write word) to dabble in some fiction. I am, however, too scared! I am sure it is something I will tackle one day – I would love to use my imagination and creative through doing something I love. I do that through non-fiction in many ways, but I definitely want to expand. I admire your ambition and determination to get that perfect story for PF. In the meantime, I wonder if you might have some tips for fiction writing that I could include as a guest blog on my blog? It might help ease me out of my comfort zone to have some advice from someone who clearly knows what they are doing. I do, however, understand if you are too busy. If you are, I will continue to learn from your blog 🙂

  2. Wow, Nicola that would be fab. What an honour. No need to ask twice, of course I’d love to be a guest on your blog. Oh my goodness, how lovely. I’m off to watch Doc Martin now. How does that work? Shall I email a few paragraphs, or do you ask questions? As soon as I know what you need me to do, zzzza zza, it will be done.:))))) You MUST have a go at fiction, the worst that can happen is that they’ll say ‘no, send something else’.

  3. Oh fantastic! I am really pleased. What I would really like is some tips, from your experience, or writing fiction. You can write this as a list or as paragraphs – whatever ‘fits’ for you. I will introduce you and your blog and then your tips. There is no rush, so please take however long you need. I am really looking forward to reading this as I am sure it will inspire me and many others too! Thanks so much Susan.

  4. Studying the publication to see exactly what they want is a great idea. A story that’s brilliant but the wrong style or subject matter won’t ever get in – I’m sure many rejects are because writers have sent the wrong story for the market rather than because the story wasn’t good enough for publication.

  5. Patsy is absolutely right and sounds like you’ve done lots of research, Susan. PF currently have a story of mine and have just asked for a second lot of edits on it before it can be put in front of the fiction editor for approval (or not! – fingers crossed!)

  6. Oh, thank you, Susan *blush*. I’m glad you enjoyed Daffodil Days – I really love my imaginary prefab village and dreaming up the characters who live there. I contacted David Young, the illustrator, and he gave me the go ahead to show the prefab painting on my blog. And I’m buying the painting from him; I know it will help me write more stories set there.

    You must carry on with your piano story and what happened to the prequel you were going to write? LOL, cracking the whip here. Get writing and subbing!

    xxPat

    1. Hi Pat,
      Glad about your village stories. You’re good at creating a lovely environment. Good to have that photo as well. Will take a look at your blog when I come home from work. Glad you’re cracking the whip as well, we have to encourage each other don’t we? xx

  7. Do carry on with it your story Susan, it’d be nice to read it on your website. How’s your story for Ireland’s Own coming along?

    1. Hi Debbie, yes I’m carrying on with the piano story. I sent a story to Ireland’s Own, the editor sent it back saying he was quite full up with stories at the moment. I think that was a polite no really though, don’t you? Talk soon.

Leave a Reply

