Vogel short story competition.

I had a letter today from the Vogel people.  Saying thanks for your story which was well received, but didn’t win.  I had a moment when I saw the envelope when my heart beat a bit faster.  The winner is published in the April edition of Healthy Living.  They said, have a go again this year…..  It’s free to enter, so maybe?

Well done to the winner.  It will be interesting to see what kind of story they wanted.

www.yourhealthyliving.co.uk

 

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

16 thoughts on “Vogel short story competition.”

  1. Join the club.
    I entered three short stories here in Australia and received the same response. There were 1800 entries!
    I love writing and wouldn’t do it otherwise. Still, it would be nice to win a price and get recognition.
    I like your blog.

  2. Hi Susan – I entered the same competition and had the same reaction when the letter came! For short story competitions a letter is usually a good sign…sighs. Will be good to see winning entry as this runs again and as you say we can ‘check’ out what did it for the judges. I did think it was rather professional to send out letters to all entrants – that was a nice touch.
    Tracy

    1. Tracy, you’re absolutely right. I only usually get replies from competitions if I’m in the top three. (As if that happens often)! So, like you I was quite excited. Good marketing trick, and polite people.

    1. A split second Sally? I made a cup of tea, washed up, put my slippers on….Oh, a letter for me? Vogel…. Mmmm. wonder whatever it could be. Your letter was well received….I thought, here we go, a general rej. though it was polite wasn’t it?

    1. Thanks Gail, you’re absolutely right. Someone has to win. Looking forward to reading the winning story though. I expect mine was a million miles away from it, or perhaps a thousand stories away….

  3. Hey ho! Bad luck – but at least you entered and gave yourself a chance. There’s an element of luck in all these things. So just move on to the next! One day the heart will beat faster!

    Juliet 🙂

Leave a Reply

