People’s Friend Winter Special.

Just picked up my copy of People’s Friend Winter Special.  Full of great stories. I love the magic apple tree one Pat.  Always full of those fabulous stories that I love, it’s guaranteed to keep you engrossed.

Finished reading Georgette Heyer biography.  It was really good.  That lady wrote 55 books in 50 years.  Mostly Regency romances, and also detective novels.  Also, I didn’t realise that Barbara Cartland copied her style, characters, even using similar names, and plots.  There was me thinking that Barbara Cartland was the queen of romance.  All the time it was Georgette, who was quite a recluse throughout her life.  It was an interesting book, quite inspiring.  So, I’m off to write my romantic novel now, set in the 1970’s.  Did you know???  When I was younger, I wrote three chapters of a romantic story for Mills & Boon, sent it off.  Then, they wrote back and said, ‘Yes, we like it, send the whole thing in.’  I was so shocked that I didn’t do anything about it.  So now, inspired by Georgette Heyer, I’m going to have a go again.

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

12 thoughts on “People’s Friend Winter Special.”

    1. Hi Sally, I hadn’t finished it, this was ten years ago, I wasn’t taking it as seriously as I should have. Also, it was a bit autobiographical. The completed book was burned, but here I go again.

  1. Good luck with your romance, Susan. Wow how amazing with your M&B novel, I wonder where you would be if you had sent in your finish novel.

    Give it a go and tell them in a letter, with a copy of the original letter from them, how sorry you are about being a bit late in sending in your completed novel. 🙂

  2. I did the same thing with M&B, Susan. Entered one of their competitions for historical romance but wasn’t experienced enough to realise that they meant what they said. I thought they’d probably said the same to every entrant.
    Good luck with finishing off the book.

    1. Hi Lynne,
      I do think they let you know if they don’t want what you send in. I have a sneaky feeling Mills & Boon like couples who both think they know what the other one’s thinking when they’re thinking the opposite. The emotional tangle is what keep the readers reading. Great to hear from you, looking forward to reading your next story in Take a Break.

  3. I rather like the Georgette Heyer mysteries.

    You naughty thing, not sending off the rest of your book! Next time they ask you, you will send off the rest of the book cos we in Blogland will make sure you do x

    1. I know Teresa, it feels like there’s lots more support now than back then. I just sat at an old desk, banging away on my typewriter. I get distracted more now, but we have a lovely friendly network don’t we? Your stories are what I aspire to, and other bloggie friends. Writing short stories is much harder than writing longer fiction I think.

  4. You’re right ther Rosemary. It’s only the last few years that I’ve been making more effort. Sometimes, I’d print and sent out stories without even reading them back!! I’m trying a bit harder these days. Loving your book, it’s getting exciting now……

  5. If you could write something they liked then, I’m sure you can do it again now!

    btw, I’ve nominated you for the Irrestibly Sweet Blogger award. Please pop over to mine if you’d like to accept it.

  6. Hi Patsy, Yes, you’re right of course. I wrote from the heart, writing loads of words, then typing up afterwards. Sweet blogger…me… oh how lovely, just popping across now. Thank you..

Leave a Reply

