Books I’m reading.

I’m reading a great book at the moment.  ‘Snuff’ by Terry Pratchett.  Extremely funny in an unassuming kind of way.  Another one I’m reading is, by Alexander McCall Smith – A Conspiracy of friends.  This too is witty and cleverly written in everyday sort of way.  Rosemary Gemmell’s Dangerous Deceit is thoroughly gripping, so I’m turning the pages on that rather quickly.  Now I’m working on another entry to Emerald writing competition.  My story is slightly whacky, but then reading Terry Pratchett makes me realise whacky is great fun sometimes.

Looking back through my records, something sent out last January hadn’t been replied to, though I’d put the usual sae.  After making an enquiry, they hadn’t a clue what I was talking about.  They asked me to send the same story again.  Trouble is, there were three photographs included.  I put my name and address on the back of the photos, so hopefully they may surface.  Goes to show that keeping dates of what’s gone where is of utmost importance, and could be vital for an editor chasing up something that otherwise could be lost.  Also, lets me realise that I may mark this publication as *not great in taking care of precious photos and stories*** though saying that, I’m hopeful, as this same magazine kept an article and photos for two years once, then sent them back;  I’d forgotten about that submission.

One of the funny lines in ‘Snuff’ goes like this.   Police Inspector Vimes, notices the expression on a face of one of the Goblins, and says to himself,

“Just goes to show that you never know, though what it is we never know, we’ll never know, because we don’t know it.”  He is a brilliant writer, and I feel sorry that he has the onset of alzheimer’s disease; but what a brave man to speak out and make us all more aware of this awful condition that can strike anyone.  May he continue to write and write…..

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

8 thoughts on “Books I’m reading.”

  1. Of course I echo your best wishes to Terry P. But talking of what we’re reading, I was given ‘Murder Comes To Pemberley’ for Christmas. As a fan of PD James and Jane Austen I expected this to be a topnotch book. But – and this is probably heresy – it’s a bit ‘meh’. Perhaps it’s because it falls between two stools: not quite Austen, not quite James. Or is it me?

  2. That’s so kind of you to mention Dangerous Deceit in such a way – glad you’re enjoying it, Suzy! I was interested in Julia’s comment above as I was given PD James’ new book for Christmas and I’ve only read a few pages so far – not sure about it but will reserve judgement as I love her other books, and Jane Austen!

    1. Hi Rosemary, the book is good. I’m hoping to finish it soon, then I’ll do a proper review. Not overkeen on P.D. James, though I haven’t read many of the books. Slightly sinister for me.

  3. Hi Sally, I like to mix them up as it gives a change of tone, though I tend to read similar books. I noticed on the jacket cover that Terry Pratchett is being compared to P.G. Wodehouse – one who I think is also brilliant. Also, Alexander McCall writes in a similar vein. Thanks for the luck, think I need it.

Leave a Reply

