Emerald writing workshop.

I just heard from Eddie Walsh at Emerald writing workshop that my story – ‘One night with you’ has made it on to the long list.  It was Patsy who put me in touch with Emerald from her blog.  Just enjoying a cup of cappucino before our home made soup.

 This time of the year, I start thinking about my aims for next year, or sometimes I make a slogan or poem to keep me on track.  I’m thinking along the lines of ‘just write – right!’ for 2012.  It’s not brainboxing difficult to do.  Just pick up a pen, paper, and write words on the page.  So, I think the year 2012 will be a time of more words, and less daydreaming and doodling, (which is my favourite). I’m happy with the amount of articles and letters and even some fiction that I’ve had published this year.  I do think it’s important to be realistic with what you can do though.  I’m going to aim for 500 wds a day, that’s 3,000 wds a week.  I know that doesn’t add up, but making slight allowances it does to me.

What aims have you made so far? Eating that lovely pudding wouldn’t be difficult would it?

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

16 thoughts on “Emerald writing workshop.”

  1. That’s just what i was thinking today susan! Next year i’m going to really go for it (writing), as you say, just pick up a pen…

    1. Well done Debbie, I’m working on a detective couple. Not sure what they’re going to solve yet though, it may be small petty crimes. Good luck with all your writing. Keep us informed.

      1. That sounds good. I’m on a witch hunt at the mo, researching a witch from the 1300s. Good luck with your story for Emerald.

      2. The witch hunt sounds interesting Debbie. Which witch is she/he? Or is it top secret at the moment. Do you write for Ireland’s Own. That’s one I’m going to try soon.

      3. It’s a local witch, and it’s great fun to research. Yes i’ve just had an article published in Ireland’s Own, do try them Sue, and let us know how you get on.

  2. Well done, Suzy – all the best with that! Goals and aims are good, and I need to get much more orhanised as I have a tween book coming out in March, a competition to judge and two books to polish and submit! The short stories are a bit neglected at the moment…

    1. Hi Rosemary, that made me smile. My word, you are busy. I have lots of beginnings to continue, characters to beef up, and submissions to make. Good luck with the tween book. Is your regency romance in a book form yet?

  3. I love a target. My New Year’s resolution for 2010 was to try 52 new things before 31 December. As it turned out, I did 61, some of which were more exhilarating than others.
    At the top of the list for excitement came horizontal caving, when I spent a day in the Peak District squirming around in the mud deep under the Derbyshire countryside. Bottom of the list was my first ever Muller Rice!

  4. You did very well Julia to achieve 61 new things. That’s a good idea, I’m going to pop over to your blog now to get some inspiration for my yoga which I love, but have neglected lately.

  5. Congratulations! That’s brilliant. A great way to end the year and look forward to the next.

    I’m resolving to be more disciplined about sending out short stories alongside publicising Eden’s Garden and working on the next book. Oh, and the day job. Without sacrificing quality of life or panicking.

    First resolution is to have a rest over Christmas! I feel we writers need time to recharge the batteries but we are always finishing projects and moving onto the next one.

    Have a great Christmas!

    Juliet

Leave a Reply

