The Power of Three.

One is lonely, two is a cosy couple, three is the magic number.  I’m talking about editing.  For maximum effect, when you’ve written a story, print it out and read it through.  Mark any parts where improvements could be made with a pencil, then put it to one side.  Next day, type it up with the changes and print again.  Now, as you read through this second, almost perfect story; read it slower. (This is for me as I tend to read much too fast.)  Where you take a breath, put a comma.  If it’s a long breath; a semi-colon is used.  An even longer breath: that’s the job of a colon.  Get rid of any exclamation marks, unless the person speaking is SCREAMING!  So, edit once, twice, thrice, and go on and sell that story.

I’ve entered a competition following my own advice.  Can’t believe how often I’ve typed up a story, printed it off and sent out without checking it through and editing.  I’m now remembering from this day on: the power of three.  Happy Halloweeeeen, and Happy Writing.

Author: susanjanejones

I write pocket novels for My Weekly and also enjoy writing short stories. Gardening and reading are my other pastimes.

6 thoughts on “The Power of Three.”

Leave a Reply

