Creative Cafe.

My story is published on the Creative Cafe website and can be found here.  Hope you enjoy reading.  I’m quite attatched to Glynis and Geraint now, so I’m planning their story before they came to that point.  Also, I had a story shortlisted in the Emerald Writing Workshop.  It was the one where we could write about anything we like, so that was good fun.  Looking forward to the book of short stories from Eddie Walsh, and planning my next entry.

I have been studying the People’s Friend in great depth as anyone who reads this blog will know.  Now, an important thing with P.F. stories is that they like atmosphere and tons of description.  You really are there, with a great emphasis on the senses, smells, tastes, mood of the characters etc.  So:  here is my opening line for my next attempt for them.

Arthur watched Margaret pouring his favourite thick vanilla custard over the homemade apple pie.  Not just any pie, one she’d made that morning from the windfalls he’d collected while morning dew glistened on the grass.

I can almost smell that yummie apple pie, or maybe it’s my tomato chutney simmering on the hob.  So many tomatoes, so hopefully they’ll transform into some lovely savoury relishy type of mixture for on cheese sandwiches over the winter months.  Happy writing everyone.

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

14 thoughts on “Creative Cafe.”

  1. Hi Susan .. apple pie is so delicious .. I’m sure your story will be well received – and well done on being accepted in Canada and Ireland .. cheers Hilary

    1. Hi Hilary,
      Thanks for your kind words, but I think you’re mixing me up with Patsy. She’s the clever one who’s been accepted in Ireland’s Own and Canada. Love your blog. will add you to my list. Talk soon.

  2. Hi Susan .. that wouldn’t surprise me .. I’m not sure if I can follow you .. there’s no follow friends link .. and this post is by you?

    Oh well .. I’m sure we’ll work it out .. cheers for now! Hilary

Leave a Reply

