Good News.

I have good news for anyone following my blog, and who’s blog I follow.  Dah da da daaa…  You are no longer on a blog roll! Thank goodness.  Now you’re on the list of ‘friends who blog about writing.’  I nearly added, and who follow me, but that sounds a bit ‘gay’ as my daughter would say.

So as you can see I’m still playing around and having fun with the blog design.  I’m going through my previous blog followers, and trying to update everyone back where you belong.  On my little long list.

I picked up a copy of Prima magazine today.  The next wise words competition is Schoolday Memories.  Send to usual address, Prima Magazine.  I’m sure we all have plenty of those.  Some I’d rather forget as well.

Author: susanjanejones

I write articles and short stories, and this year I've become a pocket novelist for my weekly.

14 thoughts on “Good News.”

  1. Yeah, I’m a genius – either that or I just kept pressing things to see what happened. (you can guess which one I’m going with)

    All I did was log in via Twitter by clicking on the little thingy under the reply box.

    Jamara, if you use Twitter, Facebook or WordPress and have a picture on your profile, logging in via one of those sites should add your picture to replies here.

  2. Hi Karen,
    That picture is cute. It’s funny how words change meanings over time isn’t it? When I was at school we had a gay old time playing games, where we gaily skipped and had fun. Then Larry Grayson set off the gay kind of campish hand on hip gestures. After that came gay pride and all the marches and coming out for equal sexuality. Now if things are a bit odd, they’re ‘gay.’ Like a coach load of elderlies off to the seaside singing along with each other, are termed as ‘gay.’ The funniest one and I’ll finish here because I know I’m waffling, was at a writing class once, one of the ladies was named Gay, and none of use knew which one it was, so a big lady in huge specs was glaring round at everyone shouting, “Who’s Gay?” I’m afraid a few titters could be heard. Aren’t we childish? Will add you to the list now. Thanks for popping by.

  3. Did you know that you can make it easy for people to follow you on a WordPress blog by adding an Email Subscription box? I think you go to Dashboard & then Appearance (or the other away around).

  4. Hi Sally,
    That’s useful to know, thanks for that. Will investigate now. Still learning as you can see. Keep watching this space Sally, will add that as soon as I find it.

  5. That made me laugh 🙂 Names can be hard to live up to, as well. I had a school friend years ago who’s mum was called Joy, and she couldn’t have been a more miserable woman if she’d tried!

  6. Susan
    Lovely new blog! Congratulations and sorry I haven’t replied to your message of earlier this month before now but for some strange reason you’d gone into ‘spam’ and I’ve only just seen the message! Anyway, it all looks great (and I am laughing about the ‘gay’ story too! I’m sure you could write a light-hearted article about that – maybe not for one of the women’s magazines, but somewhere would like it!). Anyway, sorry you are not on my ‘blogroll’ yet but I fully intend to add you and Patsy and lots of other people, once I have time/energy to work out how to do it again! (It took me hours the first time!!)

  7. Hi Helen,
    Glad I’m out of your spam box, never a nice place to be. I read in the paper last week that the word gay is officially used as a negative in schools now. It’s accompanied with a screwing up of the nose by my grown up children anyway. When our son’s friend came round the other day and my daughter asked him if he wanted normal tea or earl grey, I said to her afterwards, “I think he was just being polite having the earl grey.” She looked horrified and said, “Did it sound a bit gay?” So if gay is now a negative, I wonder what word we use for someone who is attracted to someone of the same sex? Hope I’m not getting too political with this kind of talk, but it does make you wonder.

Leave a Reply

